We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fair prices, and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bowl

Sugar Bowl
216 W Main St, Gaylord, MI 49735
(989) 732-5524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Gaylord
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices, and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This wonderful old restaurant has an old world Alpine charm. Meal prices I saw on the menu ranged from $9 to $32. I had a very good Reuben for about $9. My wife had their baked ham special and our total bill including tip was about $25. Both our meals were very good. The waitress was friendly, funny, and attentive without being intrusive. Our meal took a little longer than usual but then the place was packed on a 4th of July weekend. We always enjoy eating here. If in the Gaylord area you should stop in here just for the Alpine atmosphere. Also, if you come in the front door, be sure to wander down the hallway past the restrooms. The long hallway to the back entrance is lined with wonderful historic scenes of Gaylord. I enjoy the old time photos and usually come in the back door. Besides the parking is easier. and the hallway takes you to the main entrance, not through some kitchen area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    47
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA Beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Cherry Pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were traveling through Michigan and decided to stop at Sugar Bowl for lunch. The food was good, but the cherry pie was amazing! Not only was the filling outstanding, but the crust was over-the-top good!

We would return here if ever in the area again, just to have another slice of that pie!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Twp., Mi.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Laurie and more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great Breakfast menu. Ask to sit in Laurie's section if she is working. She is the epitome of servers. Very glib with her comments but she knows what she is doing. She likes people. Corn beef hash has a flavor different from most hashes served. Sourdough bread is the bomb. Very reasonably priced. Ambience is small town hotel with big city portions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

All food was superb, priced right and clean restaurant. I wish I lived closer so I could eat there more often.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Drive on by”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stopped many times over the years to the Sugar Bowl and have great memories there. But the last five years it has fallen down on the places for us to stop and eat list. Last three visits the help was not friendly , portion sizes were not even average , quality of food was just ok. Prices were too high for what you got. Owner / manager not very friendly . Not a good feeling when leaving and not wanting to come back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Bowl also viewed

Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Sugar Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.