We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Authentic Mexican Restaurant

El Rancho Authentic Mexican Restaurant
1241 W Main St, Gaylord, MI 49735-7407
989-732-0307
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Gaylord
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: opened a few months ago
Restaurant details
Description: opened a few months ago
Atlanta, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We eat here often. I especially like the pollo ala diablo. Chicken with very hot and spicy sauce. Not for the meek. They do have other less spicy dishes, but this is my favorite. Makes you break out in a sweat. Great service, cold beer, fair prices. With a very clorful decor. It is a family owned business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“OMG... GOOOOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We Eat here quiet often!!! Amazing food.... Great hard working staff... Fast service... food has ALWAYS been excellent!!! We Love it so much!!!
:-))

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

it was good. I had the quesadillas. the margaritas were good. If you are good and hungry, this is the place to go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEDINA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not that good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

It was a festive inside- decorative only. We had to hunt down waiter a couple of times as workers were socializing in back. Food wasn't that good it was lukewarm at best and steak pieces in my burrito had a lot of fatty chew pieces. Taco Bell was right down the road wish we ate there for a fifth of the cost.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our group of 10 went there August 2nd 2013. The food was horrible and the service was poor. I ordered nachos supreme and for the first time ever it was served with no cheese and the beef had no taste. The atmosphere was nice but the quality of the food and service made the experience horrible. Money down the drain for this meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to El Rancho Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Authentic Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.