We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every visit, same old thing, wonderful food, hobsons beer, warm welcome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fighting Cocks Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Fighting Cocks Inn
High St, Stottesdon DY14 8TZ, England
01746 718270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stottesdon
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
cleobury mortimer
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Every visit, same old thing, wonderful food, hobsons beer, warm welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I live close to this pub which is in Shropshire not Worcestershire. Whenever mu extended family have something to celebrate we always choose the fighting cocks Why ?the food is wonderful. Always plenty to choose from the menu. The home made pies are lovely, the gammon is always perfect. Most dishes are under a tenner.
The beer choice always includes Hobsons, 4 chaps I know make a Thursday night visit to eat and drink.
The owners always give a warm welcome, always locals drinking in the bar. Try it you won't be diappointed

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Shop at the Cock!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love the Cock its my local by choice, no so local! Its a real pub with some eccentric characters, the talk is often about farming or horses. The landlady Sandra can occasionally be off hand and needs to try just a little but harder to be friendly and welcoming all the time not just when it suits her and that is one of the problems with this pub. So Sandra take some advice from me and others around you- be nice ALL of the time! The food is average but better than all the others in the area.

When a diner has had a meal and sits by the fire wouldn't it be nice if the bar staff came over and asked you if you wanted a drink rather than shout up from the bar, when there is only three people in the bar? Ideas like this can also sell you more beer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Sorry, I don't think the other reviewers ate at the same place! We visited one evening in the summer and had a lovely meal (their home made pies are wonderful) and today we went back there for Sunday lunch. Again, another lovely meal, roast beef cooked how we wanted it, lots of veg and beautiful roast potatoes and yorkshire pud. Being greedy, we managed puddings as well (but only just). Everything was served and presented nicely, with a smile. We were made welcome when we entered the pub and asked if everything was OK during the meal. We were never ignored, Yes, it's small, but it's a country pub with beams and atmosphere in a beautiful setting, obviously family run. If you want to eat at a large anonymous chain pub, avoid this.
We will return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Ok.....the service was ok, if a little basic... Good for 'pub grub' the salad dressing bottle had a mouldy cork, the onion rings were not home made and the guest next to us passed wind...eugh!!! Steaks were cooked well and dessert was beautiful! Decor very dated and the outside toilets were not the best part of the night... In fairness they tried and the food was good...reasonably priced... Good homemade chips :)

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant I've been to ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is an old country pub but we had heard the food was fantastic and locally produced. But we weren't prepared for the terrible service.

When the 6 of us arrived, nobody took any notice of us even though we had booked a table. Nobody came to greet us. We had to ask somebody where we would be sitting.
We ordered our drinks at the bar, and next to the bar is a chalkboard with the menu on it - you pick your choice and order it at the bar, and seat yourself. The restaurant is absolutely miniscule, with about 4 tables in total. On the chalkboard there was not much choice, a lot of things had been crossed out and there was only one vegetarian option.

I had orderd the duck caserrole. It had not stated it came with kidney. I got quite a shock. I hate any of that stuff liver/kidneys whatever. What was worse was that I actually found a pipe. How disgusting! I did not make a complaint becuase we were there for a friend's birthday, and I didn't want to make a scene, but honestly, this is the worst meal out I have ever had. The waitresses were young girls and did not smile or come to check if our food was ok. I would not reccommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fighting Cocks Inn also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Burwarton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Fighting Cocks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fighting Cocks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.