We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMY food and fun atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Charro Mexican Restaurant

El Charro Mexican Restaurant
16720 E 14 Mile Rd, Fraser, MI 48026-1931
+1 586-294-3520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Fraser
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Charro, owned and operated by the Martin family, is renowned for their famous unique soft shell taco and consistently providing authentic Mexican cuisine. Its menu derived from original recipes from Delias parents Rosalio and Consuelo Rendon. With a beautiful decor and a unique charming atmosphere, the Martin family has prided themselves on consistently serving the food of Mexico with exceptional customer service. Guest satisfaction has always been a priority for the Martin family and we hope you enjoy the experience.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“YUMMY food and fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped here based on trip advisor reviews and were very pleased! Great mexican food and wonderful margarita's! Lunch had a nice menu of different options - like one taco and one enchilada, which was delicious. Chips and salsa were served upon being seated. Restaurant is decorated very nice inside and out, clean also - will return again for sure!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I looked forward to eating here. The food is good, but I guess I expected more. You will not be disappointed in the portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love their food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Food there is great and very authentic. I love their wet burritos and their soft tacos. The best in Macomb County, by far.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Detroit
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great margaritas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Honestly, I have never loved the food at El Charro. I'd call it average. But the atmosphere is nice, especially in winter if you get a table by the lovely fireplace. And the outdoor patio is great in the warmer months. But the blue margaritas are worth the price of admission. My girlfriends and I enjoy a margarita night every so often and El Charro is the place to go for that. Mmm!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been going to El Charro's for over 35 years. I has evolved from a small store front to a beautiful restaurant with several locations. Food has always been great as well as the ambiance. I have moved out of state and have yet to find another restaurant that compares.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Sterling Heights, MI
 

Been to El Charro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Charro Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.