We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Seafood Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Bear Inn

Sleeping Bear Inn
231 Main Street, Frankfort, MI 49635
231-352-8090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 23 Restaurants in Frankfort
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Onekama, MI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed eating at the Sleeping Bear Inn last night. It was our first time there in several years. We all had the seafood buffet. The server brought delicious salads ... nice greens, real bacon crumbles, ripe tomatoes, and a tasty blue cheese dressing for me. It was a good indicator of the food to come. We had French onion soup, with a lovely rich broth, also brought to us first. (Chicken tortilla soup was the other choice.) The rest was buffet. there were many choices. A fabulous seafood mornay with pasta, king crab that was yummy and sweet, not a bit fishy, shrimp cocktail, really big and chilled with a nice cocktail sauce, fried and steamed shrimp, fried clams and scallops, both tasty and not over-cooked, with a really good home-made tartar sauce, clams casino (a nice surprise on a buffet, and again, well-executed!), lobster mac and cheese (good cheddar flavor with a nice bread crumb topping, but not any noticeable lobster in my serving...still a good flavor though....), and several other alternates to seafood....a really good eggplant parm., and a sweet and sour chicken that had lovely white meat pieces and a distinct not gloppy sauce. I was really impressed with the tastes. Sometimes food can get lost on a buffet, but these choices were quality dishes. A dessert table had what looked to be homemade choc chip cookies, a nice looking berry pie, and petit fours. Our foursome tried these, and again, they were tasty. Our server was very pleasant and attentive. The obvious drawback was that we all exceeded our limit, since it was a buffet, but all four of us agreed it was delicious. We look forward to dining there again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We were there for the food. The greeter was nice.. But we were confused when he sat us in the dining area which was supposed to be closed and we mentioned we were there for the pub and food. The waitress was nice and timely... But our food was almost cold. Other than the temperature.. It tasted okay but not for the price. The atmosphere was nice though. It was clean and beautiful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Caution...Under New Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I visited this Inn many times over the years and have had good times, good food and drinks. However, we were unhappy to find new management this summer. The air conditioning was off, the staff members were eating at the bar, and the atmosphere has declined. We will not go back until there are changes. So sad beacuse the location is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, General Manager at Sleeping Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry to hear about your unfavorable experience at our establishment. We strive to provide exceptional service and an all around memorable experience for all guests. The air conditioning is set at a comfortable 71 degrees and the staff has been talked to about acceptable dining locations. As for the atmosphere, we have received numerous compliments. Although I can't comment on the atmosphere under previous owners or managers, I can say that it is a vast improvement since February. Again, I apologize for not meeting your expectations and we would love another chance to change your opinions.

Tony LaJoie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We were out exploring the area and picked this place to eat because it looked neat from the outside. When we walked in we were greated by the manager who was professional and very friendly. We were seated in a beautiful room and given a brief explanation of the history of the building (built in 1895). Our waitress was engaging and friendly. She encouraged us to explore the different rooms of the inn after she took our order. The place is beautiful. We ordered brie and it was excellent. We both has steak with crab in the middle, potatoes and vegis. Everything was great, except the steak lacked a bit of flavor and was a bit cold. Overall the place was outstanding.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My first experience of the new iteration of the restaurant at the Sleeping Bear Inn, a "wine" dinner, was very positive. The special dinner featured a gourmet menu by the Inn's exceptional chef and pairings selected by St. Ambrose Cellars, a local winery. The servings were generous, the presentation superb. My husband and I felt the meal was our all-round favorite of any we've had since relocating to northern Michigan 4 years ago. The new owner, Mary Pitcher, has gathered a gracious staff of servers and is upgrading the appearance of the Victorian structure. (Full disclosure: my northern Michigan landscape paintings now hand in the main dining room.) We'll definitely return for more of this goodness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleeping Bear Inn also viewed

Frankfort, Benzie County
 
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to Sleeping Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeping Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.