We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Bed & Breakfast with lots of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Frankfort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hotel Frankfort to your Saves list
The Hotel Frankfort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Main Street, Frankfort, MI 49635 (Formerly Sleeping Bear Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Northern VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting Bed & Breakfast with lots of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This was our second time staying at the Inn. You will find the staff very accomodating, and the Inn very clean. The rooms have a theme and are very nice. There is a great restaurant inside. The Inn is centrally located to the beach and the stores that dress the town. There is a shop which rents bikes that allows you to ride the trails and into Beulah where you can have a great lunch. You won't regret your stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    10
    11
    2
See reviews for
12
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron,Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Frankfort is such a charming little town. Not many places to stay so we picked Betsie Bay. The inn is decorated in good taste, the food was overpriced for the quality. The only main complaint would be the shower. I have never taken a shower where it was painful. For the price they could afford to change the shower heads.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

When we walked into the entrance of the Betsie Bay Inn, we knew we were in a special place. The attention to detail in the stone entryway and in the decor of the lobby was impecable and inviting. We were greeted with enthusiasm and warmth. Our Room (Two Queens) was modest, yet comfortable. We had a view of Lake Michigan through the trees. After unpacking, we headed to the lounge for a glass of Michigan wine. A later tour and tasting in the wine cellar made us feel we could be in Italy or anywhere good wine and good friends come together. An evening walk to Lake Michigan is a must and an easy stroll to see the most incredible sunset you can imagine. The Betsie Bay lighthouse gives the area a feel of being on the East Coast. Our stay was a wonderful 2 days of leisure and pampering. On our next visit, the owner, Lesley Perkins, promised to take us on a tour of Michigan's wine country. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

The Betsie Bay Inn is one of our favorite places to stay Up North. A beautifully restored inn, the ambience is romantic, comfortable, and pleasant. Rooms are nicely appointed and extremely clean and well cared for. We enjoyed a superb cut of prime rib in the restaurant Saturday night; flavorful, tender, and generous. Great bar, too. The staff is friendly, hospitable, and helpful. Another nice visit for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Recently stayed at the Betsie Bay Inn for the second time and, again, thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The public spaces are warm and welcoming with many interesting and attractive features. It was great fun to choose my room and all were uniquely decorated and arranged with obvious attention to detail--many offered very special features. The room I chose had both a jacuzzi and a private sauna and two days there was a true vacation. The bedding was extra comfortable--perfect for sleeping in. Staff were friendly and quite helpful and talking to the lovely Scottish owner was a real pleasure.The Betsie Bay has a beautiful location--a stone's throw from Lake Michigan--and there's more to see and do in this area then you can begin to fit into even a long weekend. I couldn't recommend this charming and truly special Inn more highly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I gathered with my friends at Betsie Bay Inn during the off-season. i was given my choice of rooms. How could you decide? Each room decorated with such comforting detail. i stayed in the Honeymoon suite. WOW! Mirrors over the bed, sauna, jacuzzi, comfortable love seat- so beautiful and romantic. There were rooms with hottubs, rooms with hottubs big enough for 6 people, a room with logs on the walls. So very unique. The Sunday Buffet in their restaurant was huge, very affordable, and delicious.
An added bonus was meeting the owner, Leslie. She was so gracious and charming. i would definitely recommend staying in this historic boutique.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

As a family of five with two older teenagers and one under ten, we can have challenges finding a place to fit everyone's needs. With the quiet and cozy comfort of the Betsie Bay and the quick walk to the beach we all had a very relaxing time to regroup from life's busy schedules. The Betsie Bay Inn provided great reading spots in the comfy chairs of the lobby to the back garden. The food was great and Frankfort is a wonderful treasure in Northern Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Frankfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Frankfort

Address: 231 Main Street, Frankfort, MI 49635 (Formerly Sleeping Bear Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Frankfort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Frankfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsie Bay Hotel Frankfort
Betsie Bay Frankfort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Frankfort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.