We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Frankfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Lights Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Lights Resort to your Saves list
Harbor Lights Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 S. Second St., Frankfort, MI 49635   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Bad Axe, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Frankfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here when visiting family in the area. We reserved a hotel room but upgraded to a one bedroom condo. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The condo was extremely clean and well kept. The pool area is great for kids. The rates were very reasonable as well. It snowed the morning we were leaving and the man shoveling the walks went all the way around our car which made it easier to load up. What a great way to treat guests!

Room Tip: We stayed in the one bedroom condos on the north side of the property. We were told they were the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This resort is a time share plus a motel. We stayed in a motel room. Definately nothing extraordinary though I appreciated that it was very clean. Internet was a nice feature.The entrance was under a staircase. No fireplace like the resort advertises. No breakfast. There is a fine coffeemaker in the room. Of course Frankfort is a wonderful little town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Came here in the slow season-borrowed a friends condo. Very friendly front desk staff. Gave lots of recommendations for local food options. Had a second floor waterfront condo, the view was stunning, especially at sunset. Nice hot tub/pool area. Looks well maintained, clean. Within walking distance to Main street. Elberta is a short drive away for a few more dining options. All in all, a great place to stay. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: request the waterfront-worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had a great experience this weekend with my wife! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The room we had was soooo nice! I new the pictures looked nice, but I knew not to get excited because I've been let down before. When we walked in I was really surprised at how great it was. We got the Luxury 3rd floor suite which has a full kitchen, a double-sided fire place for the living room and bedroom, and an in-suite two person jacuzzi. It wasn't just that though, the quality and decor was fantastic! You will not be disappointed. There is a check in at 4PM as someone previously stated but we planned accordingly. Marsha at the front counter was really sweet and let us check in early because no one had stayed there the night before. What a nice little town as well! It's also really close to everything there is to do like Sleeping Bear Dunes and Traverse City. We will be going back for sure!!!

Room Tip: Luxury Suite on the 2nd or 3rd floor with a partial view of Lake Michigan....room 420 or 412 were bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin,Il
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay this past weekend at this motel/resort. Marsha who booked the room for me was very pleasant and more so in person when I checked in. The room was clean and they were helpful in suggesting places to eat. It was very windy the evening we checked in so it was not so easy to view the lake but still it was amazing how close we were to the water. What a quaint town and this time of year is just breathtaking up in this area. Thanks for the nice accommodations and we would recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area. Oh and the free coffee and donuts in the morning from the Cresent Bakery were yummy too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our first visit to Frankfort and was greeted by a friendly and helpful gentleman at the front desk who gave us information on the local eateries. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The weather was a bit chilly so we didn't spend much time outside enjoying the sandy beach but it did look very nice. Lots of nice shops and restaurants to pass the time away in. Would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland, Mi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently headed North to enjoy the scenery and wine of Northern Michigan. Harbor Lights Resorts in Frankfort is located right on Lake Michigan and the setting is beautiful! Our room was very clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The warm pool and hottub were very welcoming to weary travelers. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The location is not only beautiful but it is also convienent to downtown Frankfort. It is within walking distance to several restaurants and shops. We recommend this hotel (resort) to UpNorth travelers!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Lights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Resort

Address: 15 S. Second St., Frankfort, MI 49635
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Lights Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Lights Resort is located on the beach in Frankfort and features motel rooms, a variety of suites, and 1, 2 and 3 bedroom vacation condominiums. Enjoy the indoor pool and spa and private beach area. Just a short walk to downtown Frankfort's shops, restaurants and movie theater. Open year-round. Daily and weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Lights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Frankfort
Harbor Lights Motel
Harbor Lights Hotel Condominiums

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Lights Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.