We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port City Smokehouse

Port City Smokehouse
1000 Main St., Frankfort, MI 49635
231-352-9192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Frankfort
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
South Bend, IN
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We always enjoy our annual visit to the Port City Smokehouse during our vacation in Frankfort, MI. We've tried the smoked sampler and the hot meals. Always satisfying.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastport, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great smoked fish. I purchased a sampler packs one pate and one smoked fish with white fish, salmon and trout. All were delicious. Great prices. Huge vareity of fresh, smoked and fried fish. The also due jerkey, brisket and pulled pork. My wife and I had fried smelt, bluegills and some smoked brisket that were excellent. The smokehouse also has beer and other items for sale.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Smell of fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped by the other day and the smell of fish was terrible. I don't know why...but it forced us to walk out..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The fish, walleye and whitefish, in their fish dinners was perfect: good flavor and quantity. The cold slaw was so so and the fries were cold, though. In terms of smoked fish, I purchased half a pound of smoked whitefish and was tempted to drive out of my way to go back and get more! Moist, tender, and just enough smoke, not dry and chemical tasting as like some I've had the misfortune to taste. For fish, come here for sure, but perhaps skirt the other items (my brother did not care for the brisket sandwich: tough, bland, and barely warm).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best place in town for fish... whether it's a salmon pate to take home, a slab of smoked fish to do likewise or stopping in for a flash fried fish dinner. I recommend perch for the latter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port City Smokehouse also viewed

 
Frankfort, Benzie County
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to Port City Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port City Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.