We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port City Smokehouse

Port City Smokehouse
1000 Main St., Frankfort, MI 49635
231-352-9192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The fish, walleye and whitefish, in their fish dinners was perfect: good flavor and quantity. The cold slaw was so so and the fries were cold, though. In terms of smoked fish, I purchased half a pound of smoked whitefish and was tempted to drive out of my way to go back and get more! Moist, tender, and just enough smoke, not dry and chemical tasting as like some I've had the misfortune to taste. For fish, come here for sure, but perhaps skirt the other items (my brother did not care for the brisket sandwich: tough, bland, and barely warm).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best place in town for fish... whether it's a salmon pate to take home, a slab of smoked fish to do likewise or stopping in for a flash fried fish dinner. I recommend perch for the latter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Fresh and Smoked Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am usually here at least once a week. Yellow Perch, Bluegill, Walleye, Whitefish, Lake Trout all are extremely fresh and ready for you to fry up in a light beer batter.

As good are some of their other offerings. I put aside a bit of their thick-sliced double-smoked bacon for when I have company.

With fresh food like they offer, it is hard not to like.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“To Die For PERCH!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had heard raves about the fish so on our last night in town, we got 5 take out perch dinners for our family. Yummo!!!!!!! We each had like a half pound of the yummy goodness in our bags and every one of us cleaned our plates. We'll be back!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here for the first time this year, and were pleasantly surprised. I got their salmon wrap and my husband got their fried whitefish dinner. We are not big fish people, but he was in the mood for "fish & chips." They fried the fish up for us right there, but the wraps were pre-made. I was worried, but the smoked salmon was light and mixed with plump dried cherries, which worked for it. The whitefish was also good, served with crinkle-cut fries and creamy coleslaw. Also had a great variety of fresh and frozen fish, some snacks and drinks. They have some tables, but this is more of a take-out place. They wrapped it up nicely for us and we had a picnic on the beach. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port City Smokehouse also viewed

 
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to Port City Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port City Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.