We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to sleep under the stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Betsie Lighthouse

Point Betsie Lighthouse
Point Betsie Road, Frankfort, MI 49635
231-352-4915
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Frankfort
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Imperia, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place to sleep under the stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We heard there was the northern lights showing which we didn't see but the most amazing clear skies allowed us to cuddle under a blanker for a while and see the milky way etc! Magical! Also returned for another night where we made a campfire and marshmallows- easy to get to and plenty of space for everyone to enjoy their own camp fires!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SW new york
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must-see beach and historic lighthouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Unfortunately the lighthouse was closed when we were there, so be sure to check their schedule before you drive out. The beach was beautiful and not crowded at all. Spectacular views. Of the beaches we visited, this one was the only one with stones. They were beautiful. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great photo stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were driving past so thought it would be worthwhile visiting, particularly as there had been somewhat of a storm the previous night. The Lake and views were spectacular and I took many lovely photos whilst my kids played on the beach, searched for stones and splashed in the water. Unfortunately the lighthouse itself was closed as it looks as though it would be interesting to visit. There are some information panels at the gate which are useful and you can walk around the perimeter.
If you are driving past, I would definitely recommend a brief stop here. With Crystal Lake close by, the lighthouse represents a completely different perspective on the local geography.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great views and beachcombing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The lighthouse was not open when we arrived, it appears it is being renovated and there are limited hours. There is access around the outside though and the views are fabulous. This is also a great place to look for rocks/stones or just take an uncrowded swim in Lake Michigan.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Beautiful setting. Quite, clean beach with lots of stones so you can find your favorite one. The only down side was we went on a Thursday. The lighthouse museum is only open on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. It was still worth the drive without being able to go in.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Betsie Lighthouse also viewed

Frankfort, Benzie County
Frankfort, Benzie County
 
Frankfort, Benzie County
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to Point Betsie Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Betsie Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.