We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocky Greeter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn Restaurant

Bavarian Inn Restaurant
713 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
989-652-9941
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, German, Winery, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 1,200-seat German-themed dining rooms offer a variety of meals - from Frankenmuth-style chicken to Wiener Schnitzel and other German specialties, vegetarian and Gluten Free menus. Catering available. Lower level Castle Shops include Jester's Cafe offering meals to go and 8 other Specialty Shops.
michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cocky Greeter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Had reservations. When we walked in the restaurant there was an older black man at the desk named Thomas. He was so flightly, cocky, and strange we couldn't get any information from him. We wanted to know what dining room to go to. He laughed and joked and talked in circles. Even though we had reservations he told us to wait in line. We finally had to take it upon ourselves to "pick and choose" a dining room (since we couldn't get a straight answer from him). We walked to one of the back dining rooms and told them we had a reservation. They immediately sat us. When we told them Thomas said we had to wait in line with everyone else, they said that was not true and wondered why Thomas told us that. This man needs to realize we are customers and do not know where to go. It is his job to guide us to the proper dining room. It was very unprofessional of him to laugh and joke. He would "kid" and say, "No, you can't be seated." I was turned off by it, VERY unprofessional.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRamirez, Manager at Bavarian Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your feedback from your visit with us recently. I am sorry that you felt our Lobby Greeter wasn't helpful and professional. We always try to exude a happy friendly atmosphere as soon as our guests walk in the door, as well as be efficient and professional in directing our guests throughout the Restaurant and Retail areas. I sincerely hope that you will call the restaurant and ask to speak to the Manager on Duty to dicuss your visit and give us a chance to make things right for you. I encourage you to do this at your earliest convenience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    254
    158
    66
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillside, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The service was very good- We were seated right away and given ample time to make our selections..I was glad that we could order from the lunch menu during the dinner hour as the dinner portions looked very large. The food was fantastic...The chicken is great...The price ws right as well..

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Ky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent german food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Enjoyed the selection and taste of traditional German Food. Chicken Cordon Bleu and German Potato salad very good. Interesting home style sides. Service Good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband and I stopped for lunch at the Bavarian Inn in Frankenmuth, MI. Frankenmuth is a wonderful town with a distinctive German-Swiss flair. All the buildings and businesses in town are of that half-timbered, chalet style with window boxes of riotously-colored flowers, turrets, and carved fascia trim. Zehnder's with its famous chicken dinners is across the street. Below the Bavarian Inn is a collection of quaint shops with unique products, a wine cellar, specialty cheeses, bakery items, and hard-to-find clothing from Europe. There are also similarly-themed hotels, outlet stores, tourist attractions, and a water park in town.

At the Bavarian Inn Restaurant we were seated immediately in one of several busy dining rooms all teaming with diners and wait staff, who were appropriately dressed in either lederhosen or dirndl dresses. The food was traditional German fare, nicely prepared. The prices were reasonable. An accordion player strolled the aisles providing classic German music; and although the restaurant was very busy, we didn't feel rushed. The only disappointment was that the Glockenspiel Tower clock, high above the entrance to the restaurant, failed to operate. It is a magnificent 35-bell carillon with moving craved wooden figures imported from Germany that plays music on the hour at 9, 12, 3, and 6:00. We stood around waiting, checking our watches, with necks craned for too long before giving up. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable late lunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
1 review
“Pure Michigan Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The food and service were top of the line. I would love to get the receipe for the curry squash soup and the fish tacos. I look forward to comming to more events.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Frankenmuth, MI
 

Been to Bavarian Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.