We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marv Herzog Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Marv Herzog Hotel to your Saves list
The Marv Herzog Hotel
501 S. Main Street, Frankenmuth, MI 48734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southfield, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Located in the middle of everything, Marv Herzog is a great place to stay while visiting Frankenmuth. Many aspects combine to earn this place a five star rating. The amenities, the riverview, the spacious rooms, the remarkably comfortable beds, the gracious staff, and the price. The hotel was very quiet on a Saturday night and we had no problems with noise from neighbors or the hallway. The jacuzzi tub was huge, had jets for massaging the feet, and was a welcome sight after walking around all day. All rooms have a little balcony with chairs, and it is for this reason that I recommend reserving a riverview room. It is worth it. The river and all the willow trees are lovely.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    70
    10
    13
    4
See reviews for
70
162
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Alberta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel from Sept. 28/08 to Oct. 1/08. We enjoyed our stay so much, we booked an extra night. The hotel is very clean, nice and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was big and cozy, overlooking a beautiful river. Evening snacks/ wine and beer (which are free), was a nice way to sit and relax for awhile, resting our feet from our days of shopping. Morning breakfast was delicious, which also is free. We plan to visit Frankenmuth, MI more in the future, which we will definately book this hotel again,


Also.... for you Tim Horton Fans.... Frankenmuth, MI has one at the other end of town (not far, just over top of hill), but little signage about it. It is very close to this hotel, but going the opposite direction.

Chris and Wina
Fort McMurray, AB
Canada

  • Liked — Clean, new, comfortable hotel.
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about, everything was great.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We arrived in MBC airport not knowing where we were going to stay when our daughter-in-law recommended Frankenmuth. As soon as we saw the hotel we loved it and knew it really wasn't a family style hotel (although families are accommodated there). The front desk staff were very friendly and help us out.

Our stay consisted of a one night stay then we went travelling and came back to Frankenmuth so we arranged further accommodationg for this time. When we got there we were disappointed in the fact that they had put us in a disabled suite however after talking to the staff we were moved to a room on the third floor.

The evening drinks and nibbles were lovely and it was very peaceful to sit out on the balcony overlooking the Cass River, in the mornings there was a complimentary breakfast (limited menu however more than enough).

The lobby area had big leather chairs in front of a big open fire and we could just imagine what it would be like to be there during the winter months when there is snow on the ground and the river is iced up.

Would definite stay there again if we visit that part of the world again.

  • Liked — Absolutely Eveything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Everything about the Marv Herzog Hotel was great...The staff, the rooms (get a river view), free snacks and drinks in the evening, breakfast buffet. Very clean and great location. If we are ever in the area again we will stay there.

  • Liked — CLEAN
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

This hotel is in downtown Frankenmuth. It is conveniently located within walking distance to many of the area shops and attractions. There is an underground parking garage provided free of charge and an elevator for all floors, including the garage.

The hotel staff were kind and attentive. The common areas and rooms were beautiful. The hotel was obviously newer and the good repair of everything reflected that. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. A microwave (don't forget your popcorn!) and refrigerator were included in each room and there was also a Lazy Boy chair. The Riverfront rooms on the second and third floors had a small private balcony and the views were beautiful.

Your hotel rate includes a Manager's Reception each night from 5:00-8:00 p.m. You are given a drink ticket for each person in your room to redeem and there are snacks set out in the dining area.

There is also a complimentary breakfast provided each morning with several hot food choices and a Waffle Station.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

As others have commented, the staff there was very friendly and helpful -- Marianne at the front desk was great! The hotel was fresh and clean. We enjoyed being on the river and watching the riverboats. The room was nice and big and the bed was extremely soft and comfortable. The hotel was conveniently located, within comfortable walking distance to everywhere we wanted to explore during the one night we were there. We especially liked the Country Store down a block or two on the other side of the street.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Marv Herzog hotel June 19, 2008. We just stayed one night for a little get-away and it was the perfect choice. The rooms are clean, smell new and refreshing. I am very picky about comfort when it comes to hotel beds as I am a light sleeper. The beds in room 311 are extremely comfortable. We had a view of the Cass river which is also very relaxing. We found the hotel to be very quiet, and the hotel staff friendly.

The free drinks and snacks are a nice touch. The beer was a German beer and there were 3 types of wine to choose from. I had the Merlot, which was very good. The breakfast was also better than we could have hoped for. We have stayed many places, and this was a nice hot breakfast. There were many choices. We found the eggs to be nice and fluffy. Everything looked good.

The room had a jacuzzi, but it is located in the bathroom with an attached shower. We prefer jacuzzi rooms to have the tub separate from the bathroom. But that is just our opinion. It's worth saying again that the entire room was VERY clean. We will stay there again. The only thing I found odd was there wasn't any plastic bags in the trash cans.

It is nice to have a hotel in Frankenmuth that is geared to older couples and romantic get-a-ways!

Thanks to all all at the Marv Herzog.

  • Liked — The view, the bed, everything was clean.
  • Disliked — The location of the jacuzzi.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marv Herzog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marv Herzog Hotel

Address: 501 S. Main Street, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Marv Herzog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marv Herzog Hotel
Marv Herzog Frankenmuth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marv Herzog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.