We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Frankenmuth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marv Herzog Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Marv Herzog Hotel to your Saves list
The Marv Herzog Hotel
501 S. Main Street, Frankenmuth, MI 48734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
St. Clair Shores, MI.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Frankenmuth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This small hotel (34 rooms) is actually owned by Marv Herzog's family. It's a beautiful, cozy, clean hotel. It is located on the main street and has undeground parking. It's right next door to the Frankenmuth Brewery. (which has excellent food) There are rooms with balconies facing the street or the river. It's walking distance to the shops and restaurants. This is not a place for children. I recommend for adults as there is nothing for the kids to do. Included in the price is a very nice breakfast and beer or wine and snacks in the evening. There is also 24hr. coffee. It's a gem for a nice little getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    68
    9
    13
    4
See reviews for
65
156
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place is great, we always stay here when coming to Frankenmuth. It's newer, clean, great location, and comfortable! They offer free drinks and snacks at happy hour ... drinks are fine, but the snacks are kind of a joke - avoid the snacks, there are a bunch of great spots to eat nearby -- Can't go wrong here though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great central location in Frankenmuth.
Rooms are simple and clean. If you like a more pampered experience, this may not be for you. Room size is great, bed is comfortable, bathroom is modern and clean. Wifi is offered.
Lobby is welcoming with fireplace and sofas. Decent breakfast area where both a hot breakfast is served mornings and complimentary beer & wine every evening.
If the hotel served a better quality beer and wine during the evening event, this would be a far better experience in my opinion. Offering beer from the local brewery, or a German or Michigan beer (charge a dollar for the upgrade) over Budweiser, would be a nice improvement. . Same goes for the wine.
Staff Is both helpful and friendly. We will return - but skip the evening drinks and get some HB on tap nearby!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent a few days in Frankemuth for a short winter getaway.
Lovely hotel. Small, friendly and comfortable.
Enjoyed the postings about Marv Herzog life story. Look forward to staying there again to find out more about him.
Staff was very accomodating.

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking the river. The sunrise is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our son lives is beautiful Frankenmuth, so we always love a reason to stay at the Marv Herzog when visiting him. Love this place! Friendly, new, spotlessly clean, modern, elegant, comfortable. I could go on and on. We have never been disappointed. The employees at the front desk are friendly and accomodating. The beds are incredible. The evening beer and wine is fun. It would be great to see a fitness room added to the hotel. Use your AARP discount and get a great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It was a nice surprise to serve and find the hotel is new. The check-in was easy and the room was clean. They were able to position our two room adjacent to one another. The location is central to all shops on Main Street. The Happy Hour (5-7p) features a two drinks per adult at no charge (wine or light beer) and includes light snacks (nachos, vegetables/dip). The breakfast was better than most hotels. The cleaning takes pride in their work and was friendly, but they forgot shampoo on Day 3. Overall, this was a very good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Its a much smaller hotel than those in the area, which made it an even nicer place to stay. Very quiet and family friendly hotel and great staff. The room was comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. The hotel is also relatively new. As mentioned by other reviewers, there was a free evening Happy Hour and a breakfast buffet. Both were just fine. There is underground parking, which was great not having to clear the snow off of the car each day. The hotel is centrally located and in the warmer weather, it would be a nice walk to all of the restaurants and shopping. We will definitely stay at the Marv Herzog Hotel should we stay in Frankenmuth in the future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms should be fine location wise. The vending machines are by the elevator and in a sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marv Herzog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marv Herzog Hotel

Address: 501 S. Main Street, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Marv Herzog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marv Herzog Hotel
Marv Herzog Frankenmuth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marv Herzog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.