We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivan's Black Forest Brew Haus & Grill

Sullivan's Black Forest Brew Haus & Grill
281 Heinlein Strasse, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1941
+1 989-652-6060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 42 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome... To Sullivan's Black Forest 281 Heinlein Strasse, Frankenmuth, MI 48734 Sullivan's Black Forest provides a full service restaurant serving Sullivan's fish & chips, steaks and seafood entrees, as well as burgers, sandwiches, deep dish pizza and appetizers. If you have a large group or special event Sullivan's Black Forest can accommodate you with either of our Banquet rooms. We can host wedding receptions, reunions, tour groups, parties, and any sort of get together. Sullivan's off premise catering is also available. Conveniently located just east, (across Weiss street) from Bronner's CHRISTmas Wonderland in Frankenmuth, Michigan.
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were here with a larger group and had a buffet meal on the patio. The buffet choices were fresh and appetizing. The fish and everything I tried was very tasty. The servers were attentive and kept our drinks refilled. There was even dessert. It was an enjoyable experience, and I would certainly return if I'm ever there again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    53
    25
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Yellow Perch Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We found this restaurant on the internet as we were looking for a place that served Yellow Perch dinners. We went to the restaurant and we were very pleased. The service was very good and had a great sense of humor. Dinner was delicious and truly more than I should have eaten. Would have liked to try other things on the menu, but it will have to be the next time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Declining Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was a favorite way to end a day walking around Frankenmuth, but unfortunately, it's fallen on hard times. They've stopped brewing their own beer, and converted that area into a cheesy game room. The food quality is mediocre, even if they still have old favorites like the fish & chips and cheese soup. The seafood buffet on the weekend is no longer a good deal, with cheaper seafood offerings. The setting is still nice, just not worth the drive or money. Better choices available that don't rely so heavily on gfs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We ate at Sullivan's one night while visiting Frankenmuth. We had the perch fillets with French fries and Cole slaw. It was very good and the portions were huge (more than we could eat). The service was very good also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very unique and fun venue. I attended for a bridal shower. Did not care much for the food but we did not order from menus; there was a small buffet for us to choose from. Great atmosphere any time of day. Beautiful "outdoor porch" which was surprisingly warm with heaters and glass doors. Highly recommend for group events.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sullivan's Black Forest Brew Haus & Grill also viewed

 
Frankenmuth, MI
 

Been to Sullivan's Black Forest Brew Haus & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivan's Black Forest Brew Haus & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.