We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean And Refreashing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Frankenmuth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Save Saved
You added Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
1365 South Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Frankenmuth
Allen Park, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean And Refreashing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Waterpark was awesome very clean and well managed. Very crowded on Saturday though. The staff was very polite and helpful. The Elf Hollow Cafe had the best Pizza and was well priced. My family and I could have done without all the drinking that was taken place poolside. We will be returning again and again was well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Zehnder's Splash Village! We are glad you had a nice time and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    157
    55
    34
    19
See reviews for
304
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were debating on this water park and another one. We had never visited this location before. We were surprised by the fact that adding a crib was an extra charge(this would have been free at the other water park)to our room yet we saw at least 4 in the hallway right outside our room. The water park was nice but a lot of the things in the park didn't work in the bucket area. The alligator was broken and yet still in the pool. The turtle in the baby area also did not work. We have 3 kids 10, 2, and 1 year old they were all entertained somewhat and really enjoyed the time there but did get bored after about 2 hours. However the women's and men's locker rooms were a huge disappointment!! One private shower, no changing areas, pretty much made it the worst part of our trip trying to change and pack up. The spin machine for the swim suits was also not working. A male attendant kept walking in part of the room to throw wet towels in the bin which made the whole changing experience even more uncomfortable! The room was about 100 degrees when we first got there so we had to turn on the fan which in turn made it freezing during the night and there weren't enough blankets. The amount we paid for this hotel and this park was double of what we would have paid at the other location. The food was the saving grace!! The night time pizza deal was amazing. The wait staff in the elf lounge were great at getting our food for us to take to our room, getting our discount worked out, and also letting us know about breakfast. Breakfast was amazing, again the staff was great, friendly, food was beyond good!! However those poor people that have to work both the lounge and the pool area are too over worked. It took a very long time to get our food at dinner time!!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, room was very large, nice, had a balcony but all we could see was the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello, thank you for your candid feedback, we are so happy you chose Zehnder's Splash Village for your get away. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you incountered during your stay. I will personally look into the specific concerns you mentioned. I am glad to hear that our Cafe' met your expectations and will definately pass that along to our Food & Beverage team. We are and have always been open to guest feedback over the past eight years at Zehnder's Splash Village and within Zehnder's corporation as a whole. If you would like to discuss your feedback futher, please feel free to give me a call at 800-863-7999 or at webmaster@zehnders.com.

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We and our three grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Splash Village. The facilities were in great shape, and the activities kept the kids happy. The food met everyone's tastes. The staff were friendly and helpful even though they had to deal with crowds most of the time. We noticed that, even though the hotel was full of families, we heard no noise at all from other rooms of the hall. The checkout process, which enabled the grandchildren to continue playing after we checked out of the room, was made smooth and easy by Lori Butler, the attendant at the front desk. The only negative was the Presidents' Day crowd, but despite that there we really no problems, and everything went smoothly. After all, we picked that weekend too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello, thank you for stopping at Zehnder's Splash Village with your grandchildren! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appriciate your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again! Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a night here recently and found the hotel rooms to be clean and updated. The fridge and microwave are a nice touch. It is very family friendly, esp for families with younger children (8 and younger.) Not a lot of riff raff here - very nice normal people. :)

The negatives, however, outweighed the positives unfortunately. We tried to keep our tourism dollars in Michigan rather than traveling to Ohio to the larger water parks...but this water park was a bit too small for my older kids (15, 12, and 9)

After 2 hours each day we were ready to leave the water park. (esp on day 2 when the lily pond/b-ball pool was closed) If the smallness of the park didn't cause us to leave after 2 hours, the chlorine fumes and crowds made us leave. The air is sooo heavily smelling of chlorine that we were all coughing after 2 hours. There were signs warning of this, esp for asthmatics (none of us are). The hotel strongly needs to look into better ventilation - the other water parks don't smell this strong!! I feel bad for the lifeguards who are probably damaging their lungs on a daily basis.

We went on a Thurs night in Feb, during our school's mid-winter break. I'm guessing lots of other schools also had that break, because the park was crowded. Very crowded. Esp the lazy river, which was just wall to wall inner tubes. The restaurant for breakfast was crowded too - it's almost like the hotel, restaurant and water park all aren't equipped for full occupancy in the rooms.

Not to be a whiner (I think I'm past that) but the halls were very noisy till late at night with families, and again in the early morning (6:50 am) with families.

We did appreciate the free shuttle to Zehnders (3 min drive downtown) to the restaurant (yummy chicken dinner included in our package price.) Employees were nice everywhere.

If I could offer solid advice to the hotel owners, it would be this - expand the water park. It needs to be bigger for the crowds. Expand the restaurant and snack bar. And please, please get better ventilation before you have a serious lawsuit on your hands when someone is unable to breath because they are coughing so badly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to express your opinions and perspectives on Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and are constantly looking for ways to improve our overall guest experience for all ages. We will definitely keep your feedback in mind. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We travelled shortly after Christmas with our two children, almost 7 and almost 4, my husband's parents as well as, his sister, her husband and their 2 year old. We all shared the loft suite. We found the accommodations were a good fit for our large group. The loft was quite warm through the night, but the beds were very comfortable. Everyone had a great time in the waterpark, from the two year old right up to Grandpa. We found all staff friendly and attentive, from the front desk to the lifeguards. When we could get the kids away from the waterpark we were very pleased with the close proximity to the outlet malls. We had one member of our party become ill and the staff was extremely helpful in helping us with unexpected needs that arose. We would absolutely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, We are so glad that you chose Zehnder's Splash Village for your family getaway and that you and your family enjoyed it so much! thank you for the excellent rating, we are so honored to receive that from your review. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

we are a family of (6) 2 adults 4 kids(2-4yr olds and 2-8yr olds) we stayed 4 days and 3 night with and stay and eat package. Room was ok and was big enough 2 queen beds and a queen sleeper sofa. could of had more free channels on tv. Food was good and there was plenty, Elf café morning services was slow on two of the days though. water park was perfect size for our kids it kept them busy, we even used the reg. pool area too to break up the day although the dragon fly pond was not in use for half of one day. the hotel could have giving tokens for inconvenience of the pool. the shuttle bus added to the no rush weekend. I also believe since we stayed 3 nights tokens should have been part of the package for the game room. we do recommend the hotel and are planning another trip here later tis year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Zehnder's Splash Village. Thank you for your patience during the mechanical issues we experienced, during one of the days of your visit with us. We appriciate your understanding and feedback. Your suggestions are important to us, they let us know how we are doing and how we can improve our overall guest experience. We are so glad to hear you and your family had a great time and are planning another trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent the day (2/23/13) at the Zehnder's Waterpark. We did not stay at the hotel. We drove up from Howell - about a 1 hour drive. This is our second visit.

This is a smaller water park. Which was fine for my kids - ages 5 & 7. They enjoyed their day.
And that what was important to us. Probably not fair to compare it to Avalanche Bay or Great Wolf Lodge, it is just smaller. If you check out the website, you can see it doesn't try to pretend it is large water park.

Slides - we were there on a very busy weekend. And the slide line was fast. Hardly waited at all.

The one part of water parks that I do not like is the basketball area. Flying balls everywhere. Of course, my 7 year old wants to be in there with the bigger kids. As I bent down to tell him that I don't like this area, I got hit in the face with the basketball. Ugh. No biggie, to be expected. But I was impressed that both lifeguards apologized for me getting hit in the face.

I really wish they would increase the temperature of water just a few more degrees. Especially the lazy river. Once you got all wet is was ok, but would prefer it warmer. Also, the changing room is small. So if you come on a busy weekend, it will be cramped.

Also, the gigantic donuts were fun and good.

Overall, it was a fun day. Just don't expect Great Wolf.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the overall experience for our guests and will definitely keep your feedback in mind. We are glad to hear your family had a great time. Thanks agian!

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 1365 South Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark offers 146 deluxe accommodations including 63 new suites. Enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of aquatic fun with our Splash landing play area, Dumping Bucket, Giggling Gorge and Perilous Plunge 4 story tube slides. Relax in the whimsical whirl hot tub or just float along the Crooked Brook Creek lazy river. For the landlubber have fun at our new arcade or lunch at Elf hollow cafe. A towering 26-foot tree is a prominent feature in the new hotel lobby with a large gas fireplace built into the trunk. Zehnder's Splash Village includes elves and fairies as part of the waterpark and hotel's overall theme. Complimentary shuttle service is available to Zehnder's Restaurant and the Fortress golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zehnder`s Splash Village Hotel And Waterpark
Zehnders Splash Village Frankenmuth
Zehnders Splash Village Hotel Waterpark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.