We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Frankenmuth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
1365 South Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Frankenmuth
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We traveled back to Splash Village for my mom's 50th birthday party. Of course the kids love the water park and can spend hours in there playing, I am not sure where the people who say the waterpark is "basic" are coming from. It is the same park you would find at Great Wolf Lodge, it's huge, loud, and really hot.
Overall the hotel is clean, everything in the room worked, there was nothing we needed that was not there. All three of our rooms were able to check in early, which was nice. Coming from a hospitality background I know how frustrating it is when guests don't get that time is needed to flip the rooms. We had dinner vouchers to Zehnders and would not recommend it. It is crowded, so loud that conversation is almost impossible. We had reservations which was better than the solid hour(maybe 2?!) wait that people were lined up almost out the door for. I would not wait to eat here. If you buy the meal package, immediately after you have reserved your hotel room CALL and MAKE A RESERVATION! If you don't have one you will wait for a very, very long time.The food is bland, our server was great but we could tell that she was overwhelmed. Last time we visited Frankenmuth we ate at The Bavarian and would highly recommend that as opposed to Zehnders. The breakfast area is too small for the number of guests the hotel can host, this seems to be an issue that is prevalent in almost any hotel, the hours of 8-10 are hectic and chaotic, hard to find a place to sit, etc. Huge array of food at the morning breakfast buffet (Elk Hollow cafe) and the service was excellent.
Overall the trip was fun and the rooms were clean with comfortable beds, good service and the water park made it a great place to spend a weekend.
Finally, be aware that the town pretty much shuts down about 9pm, so if you need anything get it prior to that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    146
    54
    32
    19
See reviews for
288
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millington, Michigan, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our server was Eric Harper and he was a very friendly server. We were in his area for several hours while the kids enjoyed the water area. He was highly professional, and polite.
We enjoyed the food and drinks, and it was nice to feel at home at a business establishment.
Thank you for making our stay the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Have only been here an hour and already a great experience. Especially due to Eric Harper. Thanks for your great service .the rooms are clean and spacious. We will return for another visit . Family atmosphere that can't be beat !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We travelled from Guelph Ontario to this wonderful hotel and were immediately taken by the Splash Village and close proximity to Bronners Christmas Store. The hotel is in a great location for shopping and seeing sites, Staff couldn't do enough to help and all up it was just a great family experience. Thanks Zehnders.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Love Halloween weekend activities for my two small grandchildren. However our teenage children would have liked access to high speed WiFi. Most hotels have this either free or at reasonable fee. Love the family getaway opportunity this hotel offers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Zehnder's at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello, thank you for your candid feedback, we are so happy you chose to spend Halloween with us this year. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the WiFi issue, it is currently down as we are in the process of upgrading the WiFi so that guests have speedy access to the Internet in all rooms at all times. The WiFi should be back up very soon. We hope that you consider staying with us again soon, thanks!

Doug Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Michigan, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were not told up front that though we paid for breakfast each day we would not be able to have breakfast on the days the water park was closed or opening late. We were not offered anything else for this error by Zehnders and this resorted in an escalated complaint to management. The beds were beyond stiff and gave up back/hips issues for the few hours we tried to sleep. The hotel pool is usually closed for non-hotel guest activities leaving the paying guests to have no access to the pool or sauna. Next time we plan to stay at the Holiday Inn which is currently being built, they always have a lovely breakfast for you (which is included and you don't have to pay extra for) and a pool you as the paying hotel guest will have access to; not to mention the amazing rooms and beds! In the end I'm glad my daughter had a great time playing but unfortunately we will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Zehnder's at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello, we sincerely apologize for your recent experience at Zehnder's Splash Village. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss the issues described above at your earliest convenience so that we can make it right. Please feel free to contact me at (800) 863-7999 or at webmaster@zehnders.com.

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to hearing from you,

Doug Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Zehnders Splash Village on 10/27 in a Loft Suite. Upon arrival we were told the computer system was down, however they could still check and see if our room was ready. It was a pleasant surprise that our room was ready almost 2 hours before the 4pm check in time. A big thanks to the front desk staff as the were always smiling and very kind throughout the whole process. We were taken to our room and let in by housekeeping because they could not make any room keys with the system being down.There were 4 of us adults and 2 kids. The description of the room on the web site is pretty much what you get, 2 queen beds and a queen sofa/sleeper with a full bathroom on the main floor and a queen bed with a half bath upstairs. There are 3 flat screen TVs (2 down and 1 up) in the unit, along with a mini fridge and microwave. I was very happy with the condition and cleanliness of the unit, not stains on the carpet and the tile in the bathroom was clean. The jet tub in the bathroom was spotless as well! The waterpark was alot of fun and we all had a good laugh watching "Grandpa" go down the waterslides and enjoying himself on the lazy river! It was never too crowded and never had to wait more than a minute in line for the slides. A nice touch was the Trick or Treating event they had throughout the hotel in the evening, the kids loved it! Overall we had a great time and are definately planning on going back soon!

Room Tip: The loft suites are very spacious and have plenty of sleeping room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Zehnder's at Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello, thank you so much for the positive feedback! Thank you for your patience during our computer glitch, we are so happy that you and your family had a great time even though we experienced technical difficulties that day. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks,

Doug Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 1365 South Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel and Waterpark offers 146 deluxe accommodations including 63 new suites. Enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of aquatic fun with our Splash landing play area, Dumping Bucket, Giggling Gorge and Perilous Plunge 4 story tube slides. Relax in the whimsical whirl hot tub or just float along the Crooked Brook Creek lazy river. For the landlubber have fun at our new arcade or lunch at Elf hollow cafe. A towering 26-foot tree is a prominent feature in the new hotel lobby with a large gas fireplace built into the trunk. Zehnder's Splash Village includes elves and fairies as part of the waterpark and hotel's overall theme. Complimentary shuttle service is available to Zehnder's Restaurant and the Fortress golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zehnder`s Splash Village Hotel And Waterpark
Zehnders Splash Village Frankenmuth
Zehnders Splash Village Hotel Waterpark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list