We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zehnder's of Frankenmuth

Zehnder's of Frankenmuth
730 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1622
+1 800-863-7999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 40 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
LAPEER
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were not hungry enough for the family style dinner and chose the two-piece chicken dinners. It came with coleslaw and mashed potatoes and stuffing. It was plenty of food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's of Frankenmuth, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you, kcheze for taking the time to post your comments about your last visit. We appreciate being part of your trip to Frankenmuth and look forward to serving you in the future.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
989-652-0449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    285
    139
    65
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a reasonable price with pleasent surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the lunch special all-white meat, which was two pieces with coleslaw,bread,mashed potatoes and dressing for $12.50. Excellent waitstaff and pleasant surroundings in the German mode of the town of Frankenmuth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's of Frankenmuth, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for posting. We have a luncheon menu designed for lighter appetites, and we will serve it outside of lunch hours in our TapRoom. We also have our Z-Chef Café downstairs for takeouts, or those interested in a lighter meal without the more formal service we provide in our other dining rooms.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This restaurant had delicious food and a fun atmosphere! The gift shop was fantastic as well. There was definitely a lot of history in the restaurant. You can learn about the restaurant as well as the town of Frankenmuth.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's of Frankenmuth, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you Katie from Missouri. It really is fun to learn about the history behind all of the businesses in town. From Bronners to Zehnders, there are so many stories and traditions that we have come to pass along to so many guests. Thank you.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The chicken lunch was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place has been known for their chicken for many years. We were brought there by some relatives that grew up in Michigan and had returned for a high school reunion from 50 years ago.They gave us a great tour of Michigan and we stopped and eat here after visiting the Christmas store in this town. The food was just like they remembered from many years ago.
Try the food and enjoy the town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's of Frankenmuth, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We have indeed used the same recipes since your high school reunion. We make all of our baked goods in bakery, and everything else is prepared in our kitchens, or to our specifications. Thank you for coming to California, and I hope you visit us again soon.


Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Yummy chicken . . . and everything else.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I LOVE the family style chicken dinner and everything that comes with it. Yes it is a little pricey but you should never pay full price since there are tons of coupons floating around the internet all the time. Sign up for their free rewards program and get add'l coupons and a free meal in your birthday month.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, Manager at Zehnder's of Frankenmuth, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The food and service you enjoy, we enjoy providing for you. We hope you come back time, and time again. See you soon.

Shelby Albrecht
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zehnder's of Frankenmuth also viewed

 
Frankenmuth, MI
 

Been to Zehnder's of Frankenmuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zehnder's of Frankenmuth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.