We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elf Hollow Cafe

Elf Hollow Cafe
1365 S Main Street, in Zehnder's Splash Village, Frankenmuth, MI
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lapeer
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our waitress, Courtney, was exceptional. She was friendly, helpful and excellent with the children.
Courtney was professional in her dress and very caring in her attitude and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had vouchers for the breakfast in our package. The food is good, there is a variety to eat from junk to healthy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet, not such great service for lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and had the breakfast buffet. It had a good variety, and had good hot food. The service for breakfast was average.

For lunch I stood in line for 15 minutes to even take my order from the waterpark service window for Elf Hollow. After placing my order, it took 25 minutes to get our food. It was probably the slowest service I have experienced in years. It was not the worker's fault, she was simply overwhelmed and no one working there seemed to want to help her.

I took these issues to the manager, and she barely apologized. Overall decent food, poor service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehnders, General Manager at Elf Hollow Cafe, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for your less than satisfactory experience at Elf Hollow Cafe'. I will personally look into the issues you experienced during your stay. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss the issues described above at your earliest convenience so that we can make it right. Please feel free to contact me at (989) 863-7999 or at webmaster@zehnders.com.

Sincerely,
Douglas Lemcke
General Manager of Zehnder's Splash Village Hotel & Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food and service, fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Only had the breakfast buffet and it was very reasonably priced. 2-5 yr olds $3.95 5-7 $5.95 and adults $7.95. Lots of food, good (not like a buffet where sometimes all of the food has the same taste to it). Everything you can imagine on a breakfast buffet.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Odessa, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food and fast....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Friday night pizza was great. It was made to order and made fresh. The breadsticks were also super. The breakfasts are buffet style with lots of food piled up and not all was real hot or fresh, which I guess is to be expected with that many people.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elf Hollow Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Elf Hollow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elf Hollow Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.