We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Friendly! Clean! Love it love it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Bavarian Inn Lodge
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Covered Bridge Lane, Frankenmuth, MI 48734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$119 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome! Friendly! Clean! Love it love it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Bavarian Inn several probably over 25 times and love each visit more and more. The staff are so warm and friendly. The cleanliness if the hotel is outstanding and so much to do even inside the hotel. Wonderful place for family or even if adults want to get away!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mgaiera,

Wow... thanks so much for your loyalty over the years! We so appreciate your trust in our staff and are happy that you enjoy the perpetual remodeling and now the new water slides. We will keep working hard to keep helping you create family memories for years to come!


Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,233
    344
    134
    69
    40
See reviews for
1,374
567
24
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location is great. Can view the river behind, great food friendly people working there. I like the way the people working are dressed in German garb. I like the way they have several pools which I used one of the jacuzzis which I needed from walking around so much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Leibschen,

Thank you for your recent visit. We are happy to know you enjoyed the dept of our Bavarian theme via the building and costumes adorned by all of our staff! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful getaway for all ages. Very clean, everyone is super friendly, so much to do for the kids and adults... The new water slides are awesome for sure. Can walk into town, just an absolutely wonderful place to go. Thanks for another wonderful weekend!!!!

Room Tip: If you have children, try to reserve a room on the Family Fun Floor, very convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Kim Z.,

Thank you for your kind words of affirmation and your business! Glad your clan enjoyed the new water slides and our proximity to downtown Frankenmuth. We will keep working hard to keep the Lodge FUN until you next return!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and daughtershad another fabulous time this past weekend at the Bavariann inn! We have made it an annual trip we love it so much! As a child we would come and visit frankenmuth for the day, but it isn't nearly as fun as staying overnight at the Bavariann inn-- there is just something about staying there.. you feel like you are at german resort - the staff is awesome, rooms are clean (do riverside!) , the grounds are beautiful and everything at the hotel is there to help you relax and have fun! My oldest daughter LOVED the new slides! We always check in then go down to the little beer garden area for a german beer before setting out to main street to check out the shops and then finally make our way to the frankenmuth brewery for a late lunch on the deck over looking the river.. then we return for swimming at the hotel and finally head to the Bavariann Inn restaurant for their famous chicken dinner (via their little taxi that picks guests up every ten minutes to transport them to the restaurant) - after finally getting back to the room .. we head off to the arcade with the girls.. it is a blast! Honestly, we have traveled all over the world and we absolutley would never miss our annual trip to frankemuth and the bavariann inn!

Room Tip: do riverside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sorsuci,

What an honor to hear your feedback and itinerary on your traditional stay at the Lodge! So happy your daughters enjoyed the slides - our newest amenity! Hearing how you plan your stay, I can see why you have a blast taking in our entire community!

A sincere Danke Schoen for your loyalty and patronage! We look forward to serving you all again soon. Please look me up upon your next arrival so I could meet you in person!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed on June 8, 2013 at the Inn. The location is great. Everything is within walking distance. The rooms are clean, great decor and the view is wonderful. There are numerous amenities at the Inn. The Oma's restaurant was closed, but the Bavarian Inn Restaurant is just a short walk from the Inn. The food is very good and extremely plentiful. At the Inn, the Ratskeller restaurant has very good food for all your meals.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sharon B.,

Thank you so much for choosing the Bavarian Inn Lodge for your early June stay. We appreciate your kind words on this site. Thank you for understanding while we remodeled our kitchen that Oma's Restaurant is closed. All is back to normal and we look forward to serving you again at the Lodge (and in Oma's) upon your next arrival!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My fellow masonic brothers had a council and training session here and
everything was great. The rooms were clean and the staff were the best.
The Saturday night buffet was beyond great. The Inn is large and can
handle crowds with no problem. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Waikal:

So pleased to serve you and your entire group! So happy you enjoyed the guestrooms as well as the buffet style meals served to your group! We look forward to your return as a group or you personally in the future!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times in the past three years. However, our last two visits have been extremely disappointing. On both visits, NO restaurants or lounges were open. A sign was posted that the kitchen was ungoing renovation. However, IF you were part of a bus tour group - miraculously breakfast was served in the restaurants for your group only. Ummm, apparently the kitchen is working!! The small snack cafe in the Fun Center had limited hours and menu and was totally unacceptable. The website should be updated to provide current information and the rates should be adjusted for the lack of services provided. We were NOT interested in the waterpark. Obviously, this resort is catering to families on holiday breaks and bus tour groups. If you are the average tourist couple - stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Travel Couple:

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lodge with us. I am so very sorry that you were disappointed. We had been planning to renovate our kitchen for most of a year but the exact date that all aspects of new equipment, flooring and plumbing could be pulled together happened about 2 months out. We did communicate via email and phone to all guests that were already on the books when the dates were finalized and informed all new registered guests as they booked (both verbally and by confirmation letter) that Oma's Restaurant and the Lorelei Lounge would not be able to serve our normal Restaurant menu during this 10 days of renovation. We did however have a menu in the Ratskeller Restaurant available plus free shuttle to the world famous Bavarian Inn Restaurant available.

I am sorry that some aspect of this communication must have missed you or you did not read it. Regarding the groups, we have a second floor service kitchen that can produce our banquet menus and many conventions and groups were on the books for over a year. So we HAD to provide food from this secondary kitchen to accommodate their needs. With a group, you are preparing ONE meal for 30 or up to 400 guests. That is different than serving 50 items off of a menu to various guests. We knew that there was no way we could give service from the 2nd floor kitchen to Oma's during the renovation as we could not even walk to Oma's as the floor was completely torn out of the kitchen.

We also extended our bar service out to the Schnitzelbank bier garten on most evenings and had our entertainment outdoors as we do whenever weather permits all summer.

I would ask that you contact me personally as I would like to make it up to you with future meals from Oma's Restaurant when you next return. Please contact me right away!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#3 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Frankenmuth
Fairfield Inn Frankenmuth
#8 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Address: 1 Covered Bridge Lane, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.