We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Bavarian Inn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Covered Bridge Lane, Frankenmuth, MI 48734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
1 review
“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We come here every year for Snowfest. Room is always clean, check in is a breeze, hotel is right in the middle of everything. Love the adult only swimming area, helps you relax and get away from all the noisy children. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear FrankTheTank,

Thank you for choosing the Lodge for your SnowFest Experience. So glad you had a lot of fun... I too had a blast interacting with guests all weekend long and strolling thru the sculptures after midnight with NO crowds! We appreciate your kind words! We look forward to serving you again soon!


Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,850
    280
    115
    64
    37
See reviews for
1,112
485
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My daughter, my Mother and I had an awesome experience. The rooms were beautiful and the "fun center" was perfect for my 3 year old. The pools were very age appropriate and the food at Ratskellers was delicious. My daughter also enjoyed the video games, air hockey was her favorite game. Hoping to visit the lodge again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear DowneyLaura:

We are all so happy that your three-generation girls weekend was such a success! Thank you for choosing the Lodge to create your special memories. This is such a gift for all of us to hear. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stay here every year for a few days in the Winter. It helps break up the doldrums and gives the kids a chance to relax and play in a wonderful environment. There are pools that cater to the very young, tweens, teens and adults alike. The Fun Center is loaded with so many different activities. You can play pingpong. shoot pool, swim, play an array of games for toddlers up to adults that are young at heart, and there is a huge mini putt putt golf that each year we play two or three times (I am determined to win one of these days). We always get the family suite that provides an additional room with living room furniture and a flat screen T.V. as well as small table and two chairs. The sleeping areas are super clean and comfortable and I must say that there is plenty of drawer space and plenty of space to hang stuff up in the closet. They provide an ironing board, blow dryer, fridge (key for left over chicken) and coffee pot. We have been going to Frankenmuth every year since 1989 and we have stayed at the Bavarian Inn every trip since 1999 except for one year we stayed at another big hotel in the area and our kids said never again so back to the Bavarian Inn we went. It suits our family and friends perfectly. The staff is wonderful and extremely helpful. We take the shuttle from the hotel over to the restaurant and do shopping in the little shops below. Oh, I almost forgot, each Sunday morning they have a GREAT brunch in the atrium of the hotel and it really offers something for everyone. We would not miss it. After reading one of the other reviews on the Bavarian Inn, all I can say is that maybe those folks was not in the mood to have fun. Unlike some hotels that offer lots of activities, you never see folks arguing or the kids fussing. Everyone really does have a great time. It gives everyone a chance to kick back, relax and spend quality time together. Whether you come for the holidays, Spring, Summer, Fall, some festival, Snow Fest or Christmas, pack the family up and make the trip. Nothing fancy, but really great, clean, wholesome family, couple & single folks fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Karen K.,

Wow... what an honor to have had you here all but one year out of 13 years! Thanks so much for your loyalty! Your narrative about how you use our amenities and facilities is so well stated, I am sharing it with our marketing department. We so try to have events and categories for every age. We so appreciate the opportunity to serve you!

Thank you for sharing your experiences!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our 7th or 8th stay at the Inn.But our first Snowfest stay.It was beautiful our rooms as always were very clean and comfortable.The staff was friendly and helpful.The whole celebration throughout the town was an experience Im glad my family took part in.The Inn itself is much more than lodging....Theres just so much to see its beautifully decorated for every event going on,and the game room and water slides entertained the kids.The pizza was actually better than any delivery we've had.Can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: We've stayed in family suites and regular rooms.Never had one we didn't like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Teri S.,

So happy that you enjoyed all the Lodge has to offer and especially Snowfest! It is a grand time to be visiting and is simply a Pure Michigan experience! Glad you enjoy the way we decorate the Lobbies and public areas!? Just wrapping up our Chinese New Years celebration. Spring theme planning in progress! We so appreciate your 8 years of traditional visits! Glad you are enjoying various seasons to come to town!

We look forward to serving your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn guests for 36 years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corunna, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I took a team of four high school students to compete in the snow sculpting competition. Our rooms were excellent and the food at Oma's offered great selections and good prices. My students loved the pool and game room and after a long cold day of snow sculpting they especially enjoyed the hot tub. The service and staff were very accomodating. This is a great place to stay and we are looking forward to next year!

Corunna high school snow sculpting team

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Shannon D.,

Thank you for bringing your High School carvers to participate in Snowfest. We are tickled that you overnight-ed with us at the Lodge even though you don't really live that far away. When you are carving multiple days in a row, I totally understand why the hot-tub was a "favorite" amenity for your team! We appreciate your loyalty!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving guests at Bavarian Inn for 36 years-
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wish I would have stayed at the Marriot. First off the lady at check in wanted to charge me $50 dollars more than quoted.....she finally adjusted to the price I was quoted,thank goodness I had a copy of my confirmation. Then on to the rooms,we paid for 2 connecting rooms with queen size beds. They were full size beds with the most cheap scratchy bedding and over size polyester bed spreads that kept slipping off the beds:( needless to say, we were excited to get home to enable to have a good night sleep!
I was extremely disappointed and will never return or recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear IceCreamGirlElsie,

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at the Lodge. I am very sorry that there was confusion at check-in. I'm unable to research an exact explanation as this site is anonymous so I cannot look up the exact account. We do not offer a Queen sized bed in any guestroom in the hotel so I am a bit confused how we had given you the impression of a queen bed being offered.

Our mattresses and bed linen are new so I am so sorry they were uncomfortable. I have shared the concern on scratchiness with our laundry to assure that we are using our cleaning products properly. I am very sorry that we failed you.

Respectfully,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beatiful Lodge in a Charming City. It does not get any better then this anywhere in this country. We visited this property while attending the annual snowfest in Frankenmuth, Michigan. You have to try the banana nut bread French toast for breakfest.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Bob K.,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay and your history with us. I too enjoy Snowfest so much as we are host to all the internatoinal carvers. We appreciate their talent and the FUN they bring to our town. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your sharing on this site!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving guests at Bavarian Inn for 36 years-
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Address: 1 Covered Bridge Lane, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.