We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavarian Inn Lodge is a Great Place to Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Bavarian Inn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Covered Bridge Lane, Frankenmuth, MI 48734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Warren, Michigan
1 review
“Bavarian Inn Lodge is a Great Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I visit Bavarian Inn Lodge one up to three times a year, its one of my favorite places to relax. The food is great and value you get for your money is excellent. The staff is friendly and professional,I have brought my children here for many years and that still enjoy the family get away. I will defiantly recommend Bavarian Inn Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Pauline B.,

Thank you for your frequent visits and for taking the time to be an Ambassador for us. We look forward to your visiting us again and look forward to meeting you when you arrive!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,850
    280
    115
    64
    37
See reviews for
1,112
485
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Bavarian Inn and Frankenmuth has been a wonderful experience for my family and I. It has created so many wonderful memories and traditions. Just to name a few of many, We love the experience of arriving at the Inn and the children seeing the Covered Bridge,Peacocks,the wonderful Bavarian themed building. The anticipation of the game room,the pools and Ratskellers. The rooms are always clean and well ready before check-in time. Every year we always stop to watch the glokenspiel and sit and listen to the Platz entertainment. The food in the Bavarian Inn is an experience of its own. We love Kerns, Willies,The Cheese Haus, Bronners, Rau's General store,River place, The Frankenmuth Brewery, Satow Drugs and strolls along the Cass River where my wife and I fell in love. I could almost write a book on the wonderful times we spent and shared in Frankenmuth and especially the Bavarian Inn Lodge.

Room Tip: The corner Suites and any room with a balcony on the Cass river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Geri D.,

You are so kind and we here are so touched in reading your post about your 30 years of visits. We are frankly speechless. But be assured, we are printing out your evaluation and sharing it with ALL of our staff to prove how important it is to be consistent in what we do and to have FUN with our guests always striving to help them create family memories while visiting the Bavarian Inn and Frankenmuth. Thank you so much and I hope you will stop to say hello when you arrive at the Lodge for your next stay! Judy Zehnder, Michael Zehnder and I would all like to meet you in person!

I have enjoyed working here for 36 years and am 4th generation in my family working for this family. My daughter just started working on a temp. basis - as 5th generation! Thanks again for your loyalty for 30 years!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Great getaway for the night. The inn was clean. Staff very friendly and accommodated our needs. Even went above and beyond to make my 2 year old a hot dog for breakfast!! Definitely going back in the winter for a weekend getaway! Can't wait for the water slides!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Mimilea,

So glad your family and two year old daughter especially, had a wonderful stay. So glad the team made your daughter what she wanted... funny how children have unique tastes! We will have a hot dog waiting when she next returns! We too are anxious for the slides. We are on schedule for late November opening!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgman, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited Bavarian Inn Lodge and had a sincerely incredible time. The staff, from the beginning to end of our visit, was exceptionally thoughtful and conscientious. We ate breakfast in Oma's Restaurant and savored the delicious buffet. For dinner we chose the Lorelei Lounge and the wait staff was very attentive and gracious. Our dinner selection was purely German fare and scrumptious. We highly recommend golfing at the Forrester golf course which has well-manicured fairways and outstanding greens. This is a place with a caring and attentive staff, fine food, and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and suggest you make this a must visit for you and your family.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony which was an added plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Mariagoretti,

So glad you had a wonderful stay! The Fortress is a wonderful golf course and so very close by. We will share your kind thoughts with the chef, kitchen and housekeeping staff. Thanks for being a wonderful Ambassador and sharing your story!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We go here every year and it is always a great place to go. The staff are very friendly and it is a very clean place. We love it. The rooms are clean and nice. They have one of the biggest fun centers around for kids. They shopping area around is very nice also. Not to mention the restaurants are good. We have been going here for probably 8 years or better and have never been let down once. The pools and spas are very clean also. Even if the hotel is filled it never seems that busy. Its a wonderful place to visit. Our family loves it!

Room Tip: riverview side is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Deborah V.

Thank you for being a guest with us for 8+ years. So proud to be a part of your tradition. We will be ready to help you create family memories again when you next return!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here with my granddaughter for the first time labor day weekend. We both had a lot of fun and the staff was all very friendly. This is a great place to bring the family. We will definitely come back and do it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear BillD,

So happy to hear that you spend quality time with your granddaughter at the Lodge. We look forward to serving you again in the future and thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would highly recommend the Bavarian Inn Lodge. We had a wonderful time during our stay there. The staff was overly helpful and went above and beyond our expectations. The area is extremely beautiful, with lots of fun things to do. We took several walks just around the property and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. The food was excellent and there are many different choices of restaurants both on and off campus. The castle stores/markets were just a brief 10 minute walk away. The inn is a very family friendly place and very comfortable place to relax at.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms away from the elevator/stair cases as the Inn stays very busy and packed year round...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear ChandS.,

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff exceeding your expectations and I am happy that you enjoyed the surrounding scenery. We have staff who love to work on our flowers and shrubbery and Judy, the owner, wants the greenest pristine grass possible as our standard for the grounds.

I too enjoy evening walks around Frankenmuth. It just seems like a different place when you walk around on a quiet evening and take in the water fountains, flowers and architecture at night. Very relaxing.

Thank you so much for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Address: 1 Covered Bridge Lane, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.