We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brewery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frankenmuth Brewery

Frankenmuth Brewery
425 S. Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
+1 989-262-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Frankenmuth Brewery is housed in the historic 4 story 28,000 sq foot building on the Cass River in downtown Frankenmuth, MI. An exciting destination for food lovers and beer aficionados alike. We provide seasonal outdoor dining, live entertainment, an impressive selection of German inspired craft beers, Brewery Tours and Brewer for the Day experiences. The menu includes great burgers and sandwiches, hand tossed pizza, ribs, pasta, fish and delicious salads.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great brewery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had dinner here overlooking the river in Frankenmuth. Beautiful, modern place. They had some of the best fish and chips I've ever had -- fish was not greasy in the least and I loved the large fries. Beer excellent. Even though I was alone, enjoyed the beer! Service excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    221
    76
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Start out with their beer flight. Very good, ended up buying a case of their special summer ale, which we probably should of bought a second one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beer is Good, Food is Poor, Service is Lousy...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place has so much potential! The Beer is outstanding. However, the food is average to poor. We ordered nachos, salads and some kids meals. All were less exciting than the worst chain restaurant. The service was snotty. On a Saturday night, the servers were all gruff - felt more like I was in a college bar, than an upscale restaurant. Keep walking until they fix these issues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankenmuthbrewery1, Manager at Frankenmuth Brewery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I would like to thank you for the helpful comments. I apologize that your experience at the brewery was not what you expected. We strive for perfection but as you know, no business is perfect. We continue to work on serving great food, and training a energetic and hospitable staff. Please contact a manager the next time you are in town so we can better accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauseon, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food great bear great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoined our dinner here. The fish and chips were really good. I do not drink beer too often but them let me try it before I ordered and the one I got was very good. Our service was excellent as well. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great service pity about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The measure of good service isn't what happens when everything is going well, it's how they react when things go wrong, that's the true measure of service and lots went wrong for us!

When we arrived we were told it was a 20 minute wait, that was ok for us as we were on holiday and didn't mind having a beer at the bar and waiting. The bar man noticed that lots of people were being seated behind us and off his own initiative went to find out what was happening. It seems that the hostess wrote down he wrong pager number, so we were seated immediately. I thought the bar mans attentiveness was great and very positive.

We ordered a starter, some sort of buffalo chicken in an egg roll. It was actually very good. But that was the end of the good food. The reuben sandwich was very average. The burger and onion rings came stone cold. The server took them immediately and ordered a refire. When the burger came eventually, it was unremarkable and clearly a bought in frozen patty.

I was impressed with the service, we received a free beer and the burger was taken off the bill. Which was great service, pity the food didn't match up.

I can not commend the bar staff, servers and the manager enough, when things went wrong they were corrected without even the need to complain, however the food didn't match up. The mea was ok and the beer was acceptable. An ok experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankenmuth Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Frankenmuth Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankenmuth Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.