We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for a 6 pack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frankenmuth Brewery

Frankenmuth Brewery
425 S. Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734
989-262-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Frankenmuth Brewery is housed in the historic 4 story 28,000 sq foot building on the Cass River in downtown Frankenmuth, MI. An exciting destination for food lovers and beer aficionados alike. We provide seasonal outdoor dining, live entertainment, an impressive selection of German inspired craft beers, Brewery Tours and Brewer for the Day experiences. The menu includes great burgers and sandwiches, hand tossed pizza, ribs, pasta, fish and delicious salads.
Riverview, MI
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Stopped for a 6 pack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stopped here just to buy beer and did not visit the restaurant. The staff at the front gave me a brochure describing their beers. I am allergic to beer made from hops, so I only buy beer made from wheat (Blue Moon, for example). The Frankenmuth brewery brochure had a wheat beer - hefeweizen - so we happily bought it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    180
    152
    54
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average food wrapped in a great looking building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I took 3 clients to dinner here; the exterior of the Brewery is beautiful, the brick and iron work is really impressive. Because it isn't tourist season yet, we were able to get a table right away. The interior of the building is just as impressive. That is where the great ends and the mediocre begins.
Once our server came, he came with a lot of excuses and fumbled a lot. I ordered a Coke, and when I got it, it was flat. I handed it back to him and told him so; he came with another and you could tell just by looking at it, that it too was flat. I took a drink and handed it to him again. He said that it wasn't flat and I responded that it was. So...get this...he took a drink of the Coke!, and walked away. Not a very auspicious beginning.
Two members of our party ordered the macaroni and cheese, one had the chicken version, one had the steak. I ordered the filet and the 4th member ordered a club sandwich.
There was precious little chicken or steak in the macaroni, and the macaroni had a rather bland flavor. The club sandwich, I was told, was very good. My filet, was tough and stringy, a lot of pepper for flavor, but not much else. The mashed potatoes that came with my meal, though, were excellent..
Would I go back?, probably not. It may better known for its beer than the food....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great beers! Love their blonde and their hefeweizen!
Staff has always been quick and friendly on the main floor. You feel a bit more "forgotten" if you are seated on the lower level, though
The food is decent, too
If you buy a growler, you can bring it back and have it refilled pretty cheap. Well worth the moolah

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had looked forward to a lovely evening complete with enjoyable craft beers. We arrived about 7:30 there were free tables but not many. The outside patio was being used and it wasn't completely full. We sat at the bar and within 15 minutes at best we were escorted downstairs. Not quite as lovely downstairs. Concrete floor - garbage bags in the corners. We were given fresh glasses or beer as we could not bring our glasses to the cellar. Didn't get the same beers as before. Waitress was too busy trying to get everybody fed and as it appears out of the restaurant. Immediately after finishing our meal we were told the basement was closing. The bar tender was putting the stools up on the bar and the wait staff was clearing people out as fast as they could. From start to finish we were an hour. We had planned on a leisurely meal and it was not even 9:00 and we were hustled out. Not the evening we had planned. The food was adequate - pub grub - great craft beer. Would go back for drinks but not for an evening out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get a Table on the River!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Home brew selection quite good. Outdoor tables looking the river very pleasant. Nice selection for lunch, especially the Michigan salad/ sandwich comb choice. Better than usual typical bar food Server was enthusiastic and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankenmuth Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Frankenmuth Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankenmuth Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.