We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Flint location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Flint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Flint to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Flint
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5205 Gateway Centre, Flint, MI 48507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A good Flint location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A buddy recommended this hotel for a reunion of a bunch of us who went to college in Flint, and it turned out to be a great choice. The hotel is at the south end of town, very close to both major north/south highways. It is also within walking distance of a passable brewpub.

The staff was pleasant to work with - they supported our gatherings in a nice lounge area. The lounge includes access to food cooked to order, so we got a variety of heavy appetizers delivered by a very helpful staff member.

The facility is in good shape, showing little wear. I appreciated the through-the-wall air conditioning unit because it was pretty quiet, held the temperature really well, and the fan remained running instead of cycling on and off.

The bed was comfortable, the TV was great. I dislike the weird remotes that are often used in hotels that place the "Order" button on top instead of the on/off button - just an annoyance of mine. The room included a small sofa and a desk. There is also a small fridge under the sink. The fridge was cool, not cold, and included no capacity to freeze anything. It was better than not having a cooler, though.

The bath was spotless. The shower included a bow-shaped frame for the shower curtain and a good shower head.

Parking was very convenient.

I arrived on a Friday in mid May. There was a throng of teens that seemed to be parading back and forth through the hotel. They were harmless, but a bit out of place. This did not happen on Saturday night.

I sure missed having access to a free breakfast, but given the choice of breakfast or access to the cooked-to-order food in the lounge, I was glad to have the lounge available.

In short, I would not hesitate to stay at the Courtyard - Marriott if I find myself in Flint again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Flint, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We appreciate your business and are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Customer service is our number one focus. I will be happy to pass on the comments to my staff. Please come and visit us again when in the Flint area.

Sincerely,

Kimberly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
22
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Looking for a budget priced hotel on Memorial Day between Detroit for the casino, and shopping in Birch run for one night. For one night I generally look for only two criteria- Price and cleanliness. Reviews and hotel delivered on both. What was the stand out is the staff who outwardly love their jobs and hence it reflects in service and standard especially for an off-strip area. Kudos to the breakfast staff on May 18th who were overwhelmed and still delivered breakfast with smiles and apologies for delays. Shame on anyone who doesn't have ten extra minutes in their day for this level of courtesy/service. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Flint, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the words of encouragement. I will be sure to pass them on to our staff. We appreciate your business and our glad to see that our pride in service shows. Thank you for your patience and understand during our busy times. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,


Kimberly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My stay here lasted a few days and everything was great! The staff was very kind. We had a king sized bed and sofa sleeper. The room came with lots of pillows but having 2 kids, my husband and being pregnant I needed more. The staff brought more than enough pillows as they remembered I was pregnant. The bistro downstairs had okay food. They could have had a bigger selection of drinks. The turkey blt is great, hot wings not so great, and herb roasted chicken wasn't the best. The pool is indoors so that was a plus since it was snowing outside. The hot tub is out of order though. Housekeeping was very friendly. There's not much in Flint so we stayed in the room most of the trip. Overall this hotel gets a thumbs up and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Flint, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you posting a comment in regards to your positive experience. I am excited to announce due to the overwhelming responses that we have re-opened our hot tub. I appreciate your words of encouragement in regards to our staff. We value our guests and our number one concern is the overall satisfaction and experience. I noticed that you mentioned the limited selection of beverages in the Bistro. Please keep in mind next time that our market is filled with a larger variety. Thank you once again and we will look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Flint.

Sincerely,

Kimberly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in hotel while traveling on business. I was looking for a hotel near Bishop airport. The hotel wss clean and well maintained. My room was quiet and well decorated. The front desk staff members were friendly and professional. This hotel was a pleasant surprise after my last stay in this area. During my previous visit I chose the Residence Inn. In my opinion, the Courtyard is much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Flint, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your feedback of your recent stay at the Flint Courtyard. We are pleased that you enjoyed our room cleanliness and decor. Most of all, we are happy that you recognized our staff. Our team takes great pride in their daily work efforts here making sure all guests feel welcomed and comfortable. Undeniably our staff members make a wonderful, positive impact on our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to take care of you again while visiting the Flint area!

Best Wishes,

Tiffany Tuthill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The room and amenities are a bit dated but overall we had a good stay and would consider staying again when in the Flint, MI area. Rooms were clean and quiet. Staff was friendly and provided good service.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good -- mediocre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Flint, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel. We can assure you that our team takes great pride in having our guests feel at home when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you should the opportunity arise for another visit in the Flint area!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Tuthill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I honestly didn't know what to think after reading some of the recent reviews of this hotel. However, I was surprised and found this to be basically a run-of-the-mill Courtyard with a great location and friendly staff.

The public spaces and rooms were cleaner than a couple of full-service Marriott hotels that I have stayed at in the past. The free internet was also very nice too. The workout room was more than acceptable and the pool and hot tub were clean and well lit. The renovated lobby and bistro were bright, attractive and the sort of place where you could spend time working and having a drink.

The beds weren't as comfortable as other hotels and some of the room furniture was dinged up, but for $50 on Priceline, it was a deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Flint, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at our hotel with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your with stay and happy to know our accomodations met your expectations. Our staff here at the Flint Courtyard works very hard to keep our property fresh and clean feeling. We are very appreciative of that acknowledgement as we continue to strive for customer service and cleanliness excellence. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you while visiting Flint! We look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Tiffany Tuthill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel in the previous year, and stayed here again for cross-border shopping. The lobby is great, with water and coffee provided, and a great breakfast bar for the mornings. Rooms are nothing fancy, but are clean and comfortable. The rate for the hotel is also reasonable, which is also good when you're trying to use it for shopping instead!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Flint, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

I appreciate that you stayed with us and wrote a review regarding your visit at our hotel. Several of the new features within Courtyard's new refreshing business design is to help our guests work, relax, eat, drink and socialize within a functional space, and we are very pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our new lobby area. We greatly value your patronage to the Flint Courtyard and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Tiffany Tuthill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Flint

Address: 5205 Gateway Centre, Flint, MI 48507
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Flint 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Flint Hotel Flint
Courtyard Flint
Flint Courtyard
Flint Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Flint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.