We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I've come to expect from the brand + amazing customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Flint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Flint to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Flint
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1150 Robert T. Longway Boulevard, Flint, MI 48503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Everything I've come to expect from the brand + amazing customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed at the property for a week for work. It's a great representation of the brand with the addition of great staff top to bottom. They went above and beyond on a few occasions during my stay and it's clear that they really care about the guests and the guest experience.

Standard hot and cold breakfast options in line with the HI Express brand plus a few additions that I'd not yet come across at other properties - greek yogurt and gluten-free bagels.

When I first told my client where I booked they were concerned about the location of the hotel but I wasn't about to change a few days into my stay. It's a few blocks away from the U of M - Flint campus and I felt perfectly safe walking and running there as a solo female. You have to be a responsible adult and watch your surroundings like you would and other US cities.

There is not much right near the hotel - except the "frat bar" that another reviewer noted. It was summer, so I didn't get to experience that and comment. If you've got some time and want to explore, walk about a half mile through campus to a downtown that seems to be going an interesting revitalization. I walked down there just about every night and found anything from and "urban bbq and beer" join to a hole-in-the-wall beer bar famous for their burgers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    12
    13
    15
See reviews for
28
18
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It is a Holiday Inn Express, so you know what you are getting, nice new beds, sheets, towels, breakfast etc. This hotel stood out due to the staff. Norma Jean at breakfast was by far the nicest breakfast lady I have ever encountered. She stopped several times to wait on us, bringing my Mom biscuits when they had run out earlier. She removed the dirty dishes from the table. She asked about our trip, etc. She even went out of her way to wish us a safe trip and say goodbye when we checked out an hour later. The front desk staff was nice, the maids went out of their way to say hello and be friendly. They all deserve kudos. But, especially Norma Jean.

I was traveling with my mother and aunt, both in their 70's. We were up late talking, but never heard a sound from the nearby bar or other travelers. I didn't realize there was a bar nearby until we left the next morning (we stayed on a Saturday night).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a very nice stay, a very comfy bed for all of us, pillows are clean, white and soft including all bath towels, hand towels and face cloths. This hotel has the best service from all staff at this hotel. They all deserve a 5+ rating.

Norma Jean, thank you for your care and attention. You made us feel so much at home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This place does not even deserve 2 stars. It is right next to a frat bar which is loud until 2 or 3 am. The hotel is run down. Our wardrobe had two mis-matched handles and the chair was filthy and stained. We particularly enjoyed being awoken to the sound of someone revving their motorcycle as loud as they could at 1:00 in the morning. Not because they were going anywhere, just because they could apparently.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Doug M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Again, thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flint hotels

2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I was in Flint because my 1st grandchild was being born at Hurley. I stayed 3 days at another hotel that was about 15 minutes away . I moved to Holiday Inn Express Flint to be closer to the hospital. The staff was absolutely WONDERFUL. It was a stressful situation & they treated me like family. I've stayed at hotels all over the world & I can honestly say Katie was the best front desk person I've ever met. The food was good, & the breakfast server I believe Carmen was great & the price reasonable. It was $35 per night cheaper. It was clean & met my needs. They asked about my Grandson daily & went above & beyond . My grandson did not make it, but I will always remember the caring staff . Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. I was not a fan of the carpet which looked like it was in need of a deep cleaning. We also had a very clogged tub which maintenance had to fix. The lady who was over the breakfast service was extremely sweet, and the food was good. Overall, it was okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Third stay at this Holiday Inn in 2 years. Much better experience than previously. The staff is 4 star: helpful, attentive, personable, willing to go above and beyond. No onsite restaurant, but staff can get anything delivered. CsExcellent housekeeping staff, clearly freshly cleaned carpet in my room. Comfortable beds, reasonable room size. King room has microwave and fridge. Breakfast bar has meat and eggs as well as fresh pancakes , yoghurt, cereal and fruit.

Updating the furnishings in rooms and the lobby would make this a 4 star.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintexpressgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff does pride itself on customer service and we are glad you recognized that. Also, thank you for noticing our clean rooms and wonderful breakfast! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flint

Address: 1150 Robert T. Longway Boulevard, Flint, MI 48503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Flint Campus area, built in the heart of Flint College, cultural, and business districts. Hotel is located within walking distance of Flint Cultural Center. Campus includes Sloan Museum, Buick Gallery, Longway Planetarium, The Whiting, Flint Youth Theatre, Flint Institute of Arts, Flint Institute of Music, University of Michigan, Flint and Mott Community College. Kettering University, Baker College, Flint CMU & Eastern MI Campus, Delphi, General Motors, Hurley Medical Center and McLaren Regional are just minutes away. Nearby attractions include Cross Roads Village, Sports Creek Raceway, Golf, Perani's Arena, Ice Mountain Complex, Cage Field House, and Flint Iceland Arenas and we are just blocks from the start of the Crim Festival of Races. If it s shopping or dining you seek, several are located in close proximity.'Flint, MI Special Events': Buick Open, Crim Festival of Races, Back to the Bricks, Bikes on the Brick, Sloan Auto Show, MI Renaissance Festival, Flint Jazz Festival, Flint Art Fair, Flint Art Walk, Flint Film Festival, Carry Nation Festival, Assenmacher 100 Bicycle Tour, Golden Memories Car Show, MI Glass Artist Invitational, July 4th Festival, Genesee County Fair Festival of Quilts Please ask about our 'Park Stay & Go Package'. Stay with us, we'll take you to the airport and pick you up, leave your car with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Flint Hotel Flint
Holiday Inn Flint

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Flint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.