We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for low price hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Flint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Flint to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Flint
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1150 Robert T. Longway Boulevard, Flint, MI 48503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average for low price hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place is in a decent area, near the campus, and about 1 mile from downtown, which has a few good restaurants. If you are only paying in the $90 range, this is an average place. Getting a little old, but nothing fundamentally wrong here. The staff was really helpful. Room was clean. Breakfast in the morning was OK. You could do much worse in Flint. The Chinese restaurant next door was closed for renovations, some locals told me it was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello,


Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us! Hopefully, you will stay with us again! We are sorry! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    12
    13
    15
See reviews for
28
18
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is clean and has some of the nicer hotel staff I have experienced. The hot continental breakfast was great and the room were clean. Unfortunately, it is Flint so there is not much to do. This was quite evident at 12:30am as the parking lot next to the hotel became the peel-out and act cool lot. Dozens of cars and motorcycles were revving their engines and squealing their tires. Apparently, this is a regular occurrence because the front desk person seemed un-fazed when I called down to complain. She only offered to do something AFTER I mentioned I was going to call the police. As I said, it's a great hotel...just don't stay over on Saturday.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Jeffrey K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the breakfast selections. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the outside noise and the service you received was less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class experience to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flint hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers that the staff were great. From check in to the breakfast lady who checked to see that everything was OK. The rooms were very clean, and furnishings were generally in good order - and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast offerings were good for this type of hotel - all the usual continental breakfast offerings, plus cold boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and biscuits and gravy. I was happy with the breakfast.

The walls are THIN, and the doors don't stop much sound. Why do parents think it's OK to let kids run through the hallways at almost midnight, yelling and screaming?!? And don't get me started on the deadbeat hotel guest "door slammers".....! BUT those are not the hotel's fault. Next door's TV and alarm radio or whatever it was was enough to wake me up earlier than I wanted in the morning though - due to the thin walls.

Having not stayed in a HEX for a number of years, overall, it was better than I was expecting from a HEX, minus the poorly soundproofed rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Flint Campus Area. We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express the night before our flight to Jamaica via Flint/Chicago and again when we returned. We also left our vehicle on premises as part of the stay/park offer. Hotel is clean, staff are friendly even at 4:30 a.m. when they drove us to the airport for our early flight, vehicle safe in their front parking lot all week long, excellent morning food/coffee setup hosted by NormaJean. Loved hearing about her puppy dilemmas...LOL! Would stay/recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express-Flint Campus area. We are looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a 5 story hotel, in a somewhat isolated area. There is free parking. Breakfast room was large with adequate seating. Rooms were small, but well maintained and clean. Room had a sofa, refrigerator, microwave, free internet, but lacked a closet. There was a rack in a nook from which to hang clothes. Bathroom was very nice with excellent lighting and a tile (as opposed to moulded plastic) shower/tub. Windows are sealed, but A/C draws air from the outside. A/C was quiet when running, but it was difficult to adjust the room temperature. Lighting in room was adequate, but there was no light by the sofa. Complimentary shuttle service is available to the Amtrak station and other nearby locations. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face west and may be quieter than even number rooms which face east toward the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbear989
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Arrived early and they had a room ready for us. They staff was very friendly. We used the shuttle and that was nice too. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Even received a phone call to see if everything was satisfactory and if we needed anything. Breakfast was good -toast, muffins, bagels, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate your feedback on our hotel greatly! Your feedback allows us to keep guest satisfaction at its highest. We hope you come back to visit our location again! Thank you for supporting our Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I always preface my reviews by saying that I virtually live out of hotels. My job requires me to travel and I have been living in hotels of all different shapes, sizes, price ranges, etc. for the past 6 months.

I have never experienced a friendlier staff than I have at this Holiday Inn Location.

First off, Norma Jean who tends the breakfast area goes so far above and beyond the call of duty for guests, that she deserves a raise. Management, if you're reading this, I'm not joking. People like her are the reason why people will patronize your establishment again.

The front desk staff was incredibly helpful, kind and polite and also went far above and beyond what I've typically come to expect from hotel staff. It can be a tough job, but something is going very right at this establishment here because everyone seems to enjoy being there.

The rooms were about normal for a Holiday Inn Express, which is great. Very clean with very comfortable beds and pillows.

I guess my one and only complaint at all is that I wish there was more around the hotel. The Farmer's Market is across the street, but I wish there was more restaurants and shopping nearby. Really not that big of a deal breaker though. The hotel shuttle is an amazing feature as well.

If you are in the Flint area, I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us feedback on how your stay was. By you giving us feedback let us keep guest satisfication at its highest. We hope to have you visit us again soon! Thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flint

Address: 1150 Robert T. Longway Boulevard, Flint, MI 48503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Flint Campus area, built in the heart of Flint College, cultural, and business districts. Hotel is located within walking distance of Flint Cultural Center. Campus includes Sloan Museum, Buick Gallery, Longway Planetarium, The Whiting, Flint Youth Theatre, Flint Institute of Arts, Flint Institute of Music, University of Michigan, Flint and Mott Community College. Kettering University, Baker College, Flint CMU & Eastern MI Campus, Delphi, General Motors, Hurley Medical Center and McLaren Regional are just minutes away. Nearby attractions include Cross Roads Village, Sports Creek Raceway, Golf, Perani's Arena, Ice Mountain Complex, Cage Field House, and Flint Iceland Arenas and we are just blocks from the start of the Crim Festival of Races. If it s shopping or dining you seek, several are located in close proximity.'Flint, MI Special Events': Buick Open, Crim Festival of Races, Back to the Bricks, Bikes on the Brick, Sloan Auto Show, MI Renaissance Festival, Flint Jazz Festival, Flint Art Fair, Flint Art Walk, Flint Film Festival, Carry Nation Festival, Assenmacher 100 Bicycle Tour, Golden Memories Car Show, MI Glass Artist Invitational, July 4th Festival, Genesee County Fair Festival of Quilts Please ask about our 'Park Stay & Go Package'. Stay with us, we'll take you to the airport and pick you up, leave your car with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Flint Hotel Flint
Holiday Inn Flint

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Flint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.