We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Flint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Flint to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Flint
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 Gateway Centre, Flint, MI 48507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was in the area for a wedding and decided to stay here. The room was reasonably priced and were nice and clean. The hotel has a nice little bar down stairs. It was great! After the wedding reception many of the wedding guests also staying in the hotel met up at the bar, which stayed open until 2 am for us. They were super friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmor0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Coug88,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing that our facilities are cleaned & well cared for and that we have the friendly staff in Flint, MI! J Porters is a great place to unwind anytime of day or night.

Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Flint, Michigan!

Sincerely,

Management & Staff of the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    18
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
16
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Clean, comfortable room with a bar, restaurant and lobby out of 1984. Deadsville, boring.... The good news is there is great restaurant The Redwood right across the street about 200 yards away. The hotel had of parking and was right off the main road. Service was friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmor0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear legend1836,

I'm Randy Richmond, general manager at the Holiday Inn Gateway Center Flint, MI. Thank you for your positive feedback! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and it's our pleasure to offer you great Holiday Inn service. Thank you for noticing that our Holiday Inn hotel & J Porters Restaurant is a great place for good food & good service as well!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing our hotel. We hope you will come back soon!

Randy and your friendly staff at the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre Flint, MI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Easy check-in, fairly clean room but place needs updating. Helpful check-in staff. Floor plan different. Did not like to look up from lobby/restaurant area and see the rooms. Nothing major wrong but not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmor0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Keyser_Soze_9,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing that our facilities are cleaned & well cared for. Our associates take pride in the the way they keep our hotel clean and well maintained-I'll let them know that you appreciated their efforts.

Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Flint, Michigan!

Sincerely,

Management & Staff of the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Front desk staff were fairly friendly though the hotel is in need of some freshening (paint, decor, etc.). Hotel was value priced which made the stay acceptable.

Our room was on the second floor across from the pool (on the first floor). The pool was supposed to close at 10:00 but people were allowed to continue to swim well past 11:00. Very noisy when trying to get two children asleep. Worse, were the people in the adjacent room who came in loaded up with cases of beer and partied until 2 a.m. The walls in the room seemed paper thin.

Finally, the bed sagged and was difficult to get comfortable in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmor0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Flint, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear On_The_Road_Canuck,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing that our staff are some of the friendliest associates in Flint!

I am so sorry to hear about the noise you encountered in the room you recently stayed in. The rooms on the back side of our hotel are farther away from the pool and are quieter, and we would be happy to book a room for you in this location on your next visit.

Is there anything else I can do to ensure your stay is flawless next time? Please let me know by calling me at (810) 232-5300. Again thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff of the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is very clean with a very extremely friendly staff! The hotel has J.Porters restaurant in it with great food and very cold beer, not to mention they ran out of my kind of beer one night and a staff member ran out and purchased more for me. (That is customer service)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had great service at J. Porters - enjoyed the bar and the food was great! I would advise any personn traveling to the Flint area to stay at the Holiday Inn. It is a very clean hotel with a wide variety of things to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I travel on business often and this full-service Holiday Inn is one of my favorites and offers great value and service in the Flint area. Whether a business traveler or family, the staff here takes very good care of their customers. l have always been treated as a highly valued customer ensuring I am very satisfied with my stay, meal etc. and I come back because of that!

On a recent business trip I became ill and the staff made sure I had everything I needed to recover and well enough to travel back home. I don't know what I would have done without the caring and service they extended to me on that trip, they were terrific!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Flint

Address: 5353 Gateway Centre, Flint, MI 48507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Flint 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gateway Centre, located near Grand Blanc is the place to be and be seen for business or pleasure. We are Genesee Counties only full service hotel featuring 171 guestrooms, on-site restaurant, heated indoor pool, fitness center, business center, free wireless Internet and video arcade room. J. Porters, our award winning American Bistro Steakhouse, features a family friendly, smoke-free environment that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located near Flint's Bishop International Airport, the Holiday Inn Gateway Centre is the hotel of choice for AT & T, General Motors, Delphi, IBM, CapGemini, McLaren Regional Hospital and Genesee Fieldhouse. The Holiday Inn Gateway Centre features Banquet and Conference facilities for groups of 5 - 700. Our Catering specialists will coordinate every aspect of your event from start to finish. We are nestled in a beautiful, safe and comfortable suburban setting near I-75, I-475, US 23 and I-69. All roads truly do lead to the prestigious, award winning Holiday Inn Gateway Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Flint Hotel Flint
Flint Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Flint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.