We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but less than average. clean rooms, but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport to your Saves list
Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3033 Claude Ave, Flint, MI 48507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheap, but less than average. clean rooms, but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I found a good deal online and booked 2 double bedrooms (1 double twin and 1 double queen) for our family of 5. We were driving from Toronto to Frankenmuth to Chicago. The hotels in Frankenmuth were a but pricey, so I booked this motel, a 30min drive from Frankenmuth. A bit out of the way for me, but we chose to sacrifice a bit of time for the money saved.

When we got to check in at around 1030pm, the receptionist said that one of the rooms (double queen) was not available. I was quite irritated, as I had booked a week in advance, and just wanted us to have enough bed space for the night. I complained to the receptionist, saying that I booked it so that we would have enough bed space for everyone to get a decent sleep for the night. He didn't really know what to say or how to respond. I had to ask him if I could get a deal/discount etc, before he sugguested that he would call and talk to the manager.

He was also holding up the line because another customer was waiting. Eventually he got back to us and said that the manger will offer to give us an extra room free of charge

Breakfast for rather sorry. You had to ask receptionist for hot water, they would take your cup, open the door to their receptionist area and hand it back to you.

While the breakfast wasn't very good and neither was the service the rooms were clean, and beds sleepable - bug-free, clean sheets.

I guess for 50bucks a room, it is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8flintmi, Webmaster at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Registration staff was approached about making sure that registrations made ahead of time are honored.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    42
    30
    28
See reviews for
55
35
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here two weeks ago. It's nowhere near as close to the airport as it says. The "shuttle' is some random dude in a beat up minivan who seems to come and go... whenever? Holes in the paint & walls. But, the worst is the smell. The whole place just reeks of body odor- Reeks! Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8flintmi, Webmaster at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was approached about seeing that the distance between our establishment and the airport is properly given.

• Management and shuttle operator(s) were approached about having a proper schedule for the shuttle.

• Management and maintenance were approached about your report of a smell and instructed to look into the matter and do what can be done to eliminate it.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Was really impressed. With tax, I paid $62 and felt that was a really good deal. The spacious room looked to have been recently renovated and was appointed in a nice modern style you would expect at a much higher-end property. There were a few loose and cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, but that's a fairly minor complaint. The breakfast was pretty basic Super 8-type, but hey, it's free. The desk clerk was a very polite gentleman.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super803305, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your positive Review on our Flint Super8 Property

We Look forward to Seeing you again in your future Travels

Thanks
Flint Super8 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is the second year that I stayed at this particular hotel for my Black Friday shopping trip in the US. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough although showing age and wear, and came equipped with a fridge and microwave. There was also free Wi-Fi which was easy to access. A free continental breakfast was also included for the price of $41 US per night. The staff appeared to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently quite close to many restaurants and shopping centers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super803305, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your positive Review on our Flint Super8 Property

We Look forward to Seeing you again in your future Travels

Thanks
Flint Super8 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Well, my stay overall was pretty good. I checked into the hotel around 4 p.m. the staff was pretty helpful and friendly. The rooms were comfy, nice and clean. Clean means allot to me so this was a bonus! My friends and I were exhausted and hungry after check in and wanted a simple but hardy meal. The nice lady up front gave me directions to several local nice restaurants and also took the time to help my buddy locate where the mall was for his personal needs. Breakfast was pretty nice the next morning and met expectations. I will recommend to my fam. and my friends most def!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super803305, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for the Positive review on our Flint super8 Property. We look forward to servicing your needs again


Super 8 Flint
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Carrollton, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Don't waste your money! The place was filthy, smelled bad, was cramped and old. The customer service was the worst I have ever experienced at any hotel I have ever stayed. The front desk person, I think her name was RJ, was incredibly rude. When we told her we wanted our money back and were going to stay elsewhere, she acted like the issues were our problem. She almost started an argument with us until a man came in asking to see one of the rooms-she quickly changed her tone. I told the man to go to Red Roof in front (the 2 hotels shared the same parking lot) it was much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
I am sorry for any inconvience you experienced at our hotel, and we have refunded your charges so no expense occurred. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We booked this hotel as a park, sleep and fly. We booked directly through the hotel and not another website. When we got to hotel, in the evening, there were only 3 cars in parking lot. Got inside and hotel was dirty and nasty. Got to our room and key cards did not work. Desk employee came to door and he could not get key to work, nor his master key. Went and got another key and it still would not work. Finally got moved to another room, another floor and key card finally let us in room. Room was okay once you get past the front desk. When we checked in we confirmed shuttle to airport for the following morning at 4:45 a.m. Got down to lobby before 4:45 a.m. and asked about shuttle - it was not there. Desk person called driver, who didn't arrive in time for us to get to airport and they charged us extra for wanting to leave our car there (even though I booked as park, sleep and fly). We ended up driving ourselves to airport. The "shuttle" obviously is not kept on site and is not reliable. If we would have waited for them to get there, we would have missed our flight. I cannot recommend this hotel as a park, sleep and fly!! There are better hotels in the area who offer park, sleep and fly.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8flintmi, Webmaster at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management received additional training in properly registering guests for park, sleep and fly.

• Shuttle staff received additional training in presenting a proper shuttle schedule.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport

Address: 3033 Claude Ave, Flint, MI 48507
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Flint
Super Eight Flint
Flint Super 8
Flint Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Flint / Bishop Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.