We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
G3558 Miller Rd, Flint, MI 48507-1236
(810) 720-4600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 313 Restaurants in Flint
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Pell City, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The brisket and ribs were wonderful! We got the meal with three meats and different sides, and it was amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
827 reviews 827 reviews
567 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I visited a few days ago and got the Burger with the pork BBQ on it. It was very good. I came back last night and got the Two Meat Dinner and ordered the Beef Brisket and Chopped Pork BBQ, and they were very good.

Famous Dave's has six BBQ sauces to choose from, and the ones I tried were all good (I didn't try the two hottest ones... "Wilbur's Revenge" and "Devil's Spit").

The two meat dinner is right around $15.

The restaurant decor is the typical "junk on the walls" variety, but the items here are of better quality than most restaurants that decorate this way. Lots of old, nostalgic items, many in the theme of old cars, fishing, and the great outdoors.

If you like REAL BBQ, you need to try this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Everything is great, never had a bad experience. 10 out of 10! The wings are some of the best I've ever had, ribs are fall off the bone,and the rest of the food is perfectly seasoned and leaves you wanting more

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stuffed in there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food was very good. Service was friendly and decent. We had to wait for refills but it may have been our own fault. We were packed in there very tight. The problem was the layout of the tables. If you have to use the bathroom you may have to wait a while just to get to it. There is only room for one person to walk in some areas which caused the servers to have to wait when trying to bring out our food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, Family Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great Ribs, Good sides, good service. We have dined at several locations of this chain and have no complaints.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.