We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 501 Bar and Grill

501 Bar and Grill
500 S Saginaw St, Flint, MI 48502
810.410.4406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 293 Restaurants in Flint
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary, Tapas, Eclectic
Restaurant details
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Hip little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The eclectic atmosphere, mixing new with old, works well here. They recently expanded into the adjacent space, providing lots more seating. The menu is full of options! You can't go wrong with whatever you choose! Friendly staff is a bonus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Touch of New York in small town Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food and drink in a cosmopolitan environment. Whether tapas or a full meal, you cannot go wrong at the 501. The food is excellent and well presented. Ditto the liquid libations. Parking is either on street or on the large corner lot. Enjoy! You'll be glad you came.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“WALK THROUGH THE DOOR & INTO FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ambiance combined with amazingly delicious food are the watchwords at this delicious restaurant. I met a friend and we just went a little overboard with several tapas and, OK, a couple of Manhattans, too. Everything was worth it. Staff was awesome -- just the right amount of attention. We sat at a high top table.Another time we met there, we sat at the bar and ordered "girlie" drinks and two tapas. I just love this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was surprised by the quality of this place, and the cool interior, given that it was in Flint. The food is tapas style, 3 plates can easily feed 2 hungry adults, plates are in the $8 to $9 range. All 3 items sampled were very good. Good staff, good selection of Michigan beers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
861 reviews 861 reviews
593 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Too pricey for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I were going to see if Table and Tap was open for lunch... they were not, so we decided to try this place out instead. Wow!, the menu prices are a bit high.

I decided to get the Wednesday lunch special (Turkey Club Grinder and a cup of French Onion soup for $7). A lot better price than it would cost at normal menu prices ($11).

My wife ordered just a bowl of French Onion soup $5, however the new waitress messed up her order and delivered the cup size rather than the bowl size (cup is $4, bowl is $5). Needless to say, my wife wasn't happy, especially since her lunch hour was almost over and there was no time to send it back and have the right size served.

I doubt I'll give this place another chance... possibly, I might return if they offer some of the less expensive items that Wize Guys Pizza used to have on their menu. The slow, inaccurate service and high prices are not worth the hassle. I will have to admit that the food served WAS good, but not outstanding.

My sandwich was a little overtoasted and the ends of the bacon slices were a very dark brown (crispy burned). The soup was good but not exceptional, such as the French Onion soup that is served at "The Laundry" in Fenton.

Flint has quite a few less expensive options available within a five minute walk from this place. I'd suggest: Lunch Studio, Flint Crepe Co., Churchills, the food court places in the U of M Flint Pavillion near Riverside Park, Masonic Temple Dining Room, Halo Burger, Torch Bar, I'm sure there are more that I can't think of at the moment. Hoffman's Deco Deli and Steady Eddies at the Flint Farmer's market are good, but I'd drive, rather than walk to those.

If you want Tapas and tasty, pricier, food and don't mind slower service, then I would recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 501 Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to 501 Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 501 Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.