We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a run down dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Flint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Flint to your Saves list
Motel 6 Flint
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2324 Austin Pkwy, Flint, MI 48507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a run down dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came to this Motel 6 in September because it was dog friendly as per the chain motto. We did not expect to see such dilapidated, smelly rooms. The carpets were filthy. The non-smoking rooms had been smoked in many times, as obvious to the nose. There were cigarette ashes/butts all over the floor by the bed/nightstand. Someone in housekeeping actually made the bed and COVERED what was a broken bed frame with 4 sharp metal posts sticking out. I walked around the bed and caught my ankle on the protrusion and suffered a deep cut and eventual bruising. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly in a long time. The furniture was really worn down and peeling off at the edges. The mattresses were shot and had a big gap in the middle. The next room we moved to (non smoking) smelled even worse and it was hard to sleep at night due to the smell. Our noses ran and were stuffed up in the morning. The property outside was filthy and overrun with garbage. There were piles of dog feces all over the property. It takes only one person with a scooper/bags to do a daily check. The garbage containers were overflowing. There was absolutely NO pride of ownership at this location or pride in cleanliness and good maintenance. God forbid I ever return to this location. It was appalling. Only way I would consider this location was if it was completely gutted and overhauled and raised to a good standard and indicated in the Motel 6 manual that it had new management and totally new rooms. A total waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Flint, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear 35YearOldTraveler,
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for the odor, cleanliness and maintenance issues you encountered during your recent stay. These conditions are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
4
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Picked the motel 6 in Flint when I needed a quick room and didnt want to break the bank... Actually had a small efficiency unit with a kitchen in it... I didnt use it but that is a nice touch for someone who is planning on staying there for awhile. The room was clean, nothing fancy, older non flat screen tv but it worked... There is a pool there but I didnt use it... looked like alot of little kids in there when I was there... Located off Austin Parkway (just off Miller Rd) and near the airport, Genesee Valley Mall, several restaurants, etc..Not a bad bang for your buck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've stayed here off and on for the last year in business. For a first time visitor to Flint it's location is on the outskirts of flint and has a safe feel to it. The hotel is older but clean and the people treat you good here. Hard to beat for the value and your near all the food places. There is security on weekends. I've never had trouble here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights. The room and furniture could use a good face lift. We checked in on Friday. We went out early Saturday morning abd did not return until about 6:00p.m. The room had not been touched. I went to the front desk to let them know that the room had not been cleaned and to get clean towels for the next morning. I was told the cleaning staff had probably not got to my room as yet but they would notify house keeping about my request for clean towels. Needless to say I never got the towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place is scary. My 11 month old son is a crawler, he crawled on the carpet for less than 10 minutes when we arrived and his knees and tops of his feet were almost black. Our toilet ran most of the night, my husband killed a few ants on the bathroom floor while he was taking a shower, the ice machine could not keep up with everybody, more water came out around the faucet than in the faucet...... i should have paid the extra $12 and stayed at the sleep inn right across the road........

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose this hotel because we were just stopping to sleep for a few hours and shower. The staff wasn't overly friendly. Our room smelled like an ashtray and was dirty. I left my flip flops on the entire time we were here, including in the shower. I was worried about bugs but luckily I never saw one. The walls were paper thin and some of the people at this motel were a little scary. Next time I'd spend a little extra money for a better hotel or sleep in my car.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I usually like motel 6, but I wouldn't recommend this one to anyone, dirty, noisy. The guest in the next room had a shouting match at one point.. the wall are paper thin so you could here the conversation. I don't think they know what a vacuum is. I guess you get what you pay for including some left over pizza that was still on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel 6 Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Flint

Address: 2324 Austin Pkwy, Flint, MI 48507
Location: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Flint 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Flint
Flint Motel Six
Flint Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Flint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.