We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone's Pub & Grill

Blackstone's Pub & Grill
531 S. Saginaw St, Flint, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 313 Restaurants in Flint
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
flint, michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went during back to the bricks so it was super busy but still service was good. the place was loud and the floor was a mess, good different food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some very good dishes. Great location. Upscale atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good place, but beware of spotty service. The few times I ordered sandwiches, I was disappointed. The other dishes were much better. The service is occasionally bad, as in our most recent reserved visit with a party of about 12. The server was a younger guy who seemed to be very poorly trained and horribly disorganized. He knew absolutely nothing about bar beverages, which resulted in several errors with no apologies. The food orders were straight-forward but he even mixed up those things. It really made a terrible impression on most of the group who were all first-time customers. Please train your waitstaff (not on a Friday night) and NEVER put the rookie on the big table.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“not as good as it use to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

we love going down town but the quality of food and service has went down what a shame it use to be nice.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh Blackstone's, someday you'll find your identity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you don't like Blackstone's today, wait a few weeks, they'll completely change their menu and you may find something you like. I've had brunch, lunch, dinner, and drinks here at least 50 times in the 3 years they've been open and I've had maybe 5 good meals. It seems they have a new chef and menu once every six months and the menu can range from 3 to 12 pages. I think the appeal is that it's a place that's sort of trendy, good location and the inside looks nice but their food is inconsistent, my mother once ordered buttermilk chicken and it was ice cold on the inside. I used to like their "boneless chicken wings" and although, they were breaded and fried chicken tenders, they were obviously made in-house. Well, up until 2 months ago and they're now the tyson chicken fingers you buy at the store. Their waitstaff is pretty bad, the bartenders are good, although, I'm not sure how strong the mixed drinks are. When it's busy, it's very hard to hear the person next to you and I've seen chairs break on 2 different people, so watch out. I wouldn't recommend eating here but sometimes it's nice to meet someone for a drink.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat with friends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Was my second visit. Was 7:30 on a Friday night but wasnt very crowded. It was full but not 30min wait crowded. Spinach dip is an enormous serving with only a few pita pieces. (more to bring home!) Coconut shrimp were ok. Garlic bread is very rich...flavorful but rich and filling. Loved thier mac and cheese but again a big serving. My husband enjoyed his fish and chips. Thier cocktail 'Paddy's Punch' is marvelous. Thier 'Beach Bikini' should be rethought out, or we just got a badly mixed one, it was aweful.

Dress casual or after work...doesnt matter.

Take your friends! Watch some games like the Tigers or Lions or both!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackstone's Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blackstone's Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone's Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.