We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Cucina

Sammy's Cucina
23953 West Rd, Flat Rock, MI 48134-9311
734-671-3065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Flat Rock
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Detroit, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great food, good prices. Cozy little place. Everything was great but I would of liked to have a small side salad with my entree.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here. The restaurant is in a strip mall and is much more than one might expect given the location. The inside is small, maybe 8 tables or so. The decor is nice but the three televisions mounted on the walls cheapen the place. Service was good and the menu, larger than one might expect. I had the Sicilian Pizza which is only available in a large size but wanted to try it and knew I would be taking most of it home. It was very good. The crust was outstanding and the toppings delicious. I managed three of the twelve slices so I have plenty for lunch for the rest of the week. My wife had a chicken salad and she gave it an "8" out of a maximum of "10". I look forward to trying other things on the menu in future visits. The portions at other tables appeared to be very large. We will probably split an entree next time. Busy place. My guess is lots of repeat customers. The owner/chef (are they the same?)could really improve by moving to a stand alone building. There needs to be a double door to protect patrons from the weather (not an issue in the Summer) but is necessary in Winter. Lose the tvs. Some vertical blinds to darken it up just a bit. Darling waitresses. Keep them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Homemade delicious food. We have had alot of items on the menu and always loved everything! Someone in the comments mentioned no restroom, not true that person has to look for the door that has a picture of stick people on it that says restroom. As far as the chairs go next time ask for a high chair if your too small for the stool. As for the drinks there the waitress does refill them, was yours an alcoholic beverage because I don't think there is free refills on those! Any door you sit next to will be cold when someone opens it , otherwise the temperature is just fine there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“3rd time I've tried this place & I CANNOT understand the other raving reviews of it--is it the owner or staff giving it this hig”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

1) annoying TV blaring sports the whole time we're here & not 1 person is watching it. WHY IS IT HERE? WHY IS IT ON?
2) freezing cold. 1 pair of diners changed tables seeking a warmer er area. Another woman moved to a different chair at her table. 2/3 of customers were wearing their coats; two people went to their car to get their coats!
3) waitress hung over the back of chairs & leaned over tables as she took orders. At one table she was actually scratching her head OVER THE TABLE! Dear god, really?!
4) when she finally came back after my glass had been empty for 10 minutes, she said "are you doing ok here? Duh. Isn't it common sense to keep customers glasses filled?
5) no restrooms available for customers (I assume they consider us the "public" since we aren't employees?). Thought it was mandatory to have one in dine-in restaurants...
6) very uncomfortable "high" almost bar stool seating--I'm 5'3" & my husband is almost 6'. His feet didn't reach the floor and mine barely reached the wooden slat on the chair (so I was at least able to
rest them there).
7) food was so-so. Waitress said the pizzaburger sub was "great".
It was small and pretty dry. Husband's turkey club was better but the cheese had an odd taste and texture. Just not impressive

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great takeout option!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

my office orders out from Sammys every once in a while. During out recent spring cleaning event, we decided to order several pasta dishes to share. The Gnocchi with vodka sauce was amazing! it was a big hit in the office and we are all planning our next trip for take out. We also had the penne with meat sauce and melted cheese, garlic bread, michigan cherry salad and antipasto salald. They were large portions also!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.