We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely atmosphere, terrific hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro
330 W 9 Mile Rd, Ferndale, MI 48220-1761
(248) 584-3499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Ferndale
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Michigan
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere, terrific hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a table of 5 last sat night. Made reservation earlier, Josie (one of the owners) called to confirm herself the night before. Very hands on, involved owners. Seated immediately, ordered the antipasto which was fabulous, everybody loved everything! The mushroom gnocchi the best gnocchi I've ever had including Italy. 2 at our table had scallops and raved. Wine great too.
Josie and George (sp?) wonderful hosts...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistent, excellent food; great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to Assaggi many times. The food is consistently excellent and the service is as well. I recommend Assaggi to any friends I have visiting as well as managers who are entertaining clients. I have visited other restaurants in this price range only to be disappointed by the food, service, or both. I have never been disappointed at Assaggi and will continue to be a regular diner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“assagi-ferndale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

the food was good, but expensive. For what they charged... I would rather go to Morton;s, Capital Grill, Bacco, Flemings or Eddie Merlot's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Fabulous Ferndale!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Dined with 9 in our party and the food, service and selection was outstanding!! The service was attentive and fast. Food selection and preparation was creative and high quality. Talented chefs!! It was nice to see a menu that had two sizes to each entree. I am a lighter eater so this was great for me. Two of the men in the party had large appetites so the larger portion was very nice. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprising Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an overlooked gem in the heart of Ferndale. My wife, son and I dined here on a week day and were quite pleasantly surprised by both the quality of food and the high service level. We started with escargot which were delicious. The sauce was the right balance of garlicky and buttery and the snails were not too strong which you can sometimes get. I had the veal special, a quick seared scaloppini which a white-wine and artichoke sauce. Very summery flavors and a nice presentation.

The service was attentive without being over-bearing. My son is 4 years old, so it is a bit time consuming to get our orders ready. The wait staff checked in on us without hovering over our shoulders. Plus, they were kind enough to provide a free "Shirley Temple" to my son when they delivered our pre-prandials.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.