We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade ice cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UNCLE Ray's Dairyland

UNCLE Ray's Dairyland
1462 N Leroy St, Fenton, MI 48430-2764
(810) 629-1791
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Fenton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Portland, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Homemade ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Even though we were stuffed from dinner, we decided to try Uncle Ray's. There are so many choices from soft-serve to hand-dipped ice creams. We opted for the fresh made hand-dipped ice cream. The strawberry ice cream was the best I've ever had. The other flavors we tried were Oreo and raspberry sorbet. They were good but just good. The prices were fairly high and not readily available for you to see before you order. Still worth the stop when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
827 reviews 827 reviews
567 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“Ice Cream anyway you like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Many MANY choices here. Uncle Ray's Dairyland has Soft Serve, Hand Dipped, Flavor-infused creations with REAL fruit mix-ins. Even a "Spaghetti Ice Cream Sundae".


SAY WHAT!!? (thinking of the spaghetti scene in the "Elf" Christmas movie)



Ok, when I saw that on the menu, I had to give it a try. It was delicious. It's not real spaghetti. They have a soft serve attachment that extrudes the ice cream into spaghetti looking strands. These are topped with chocolate "meatballs", strawberry "sauce" and coconut "cheese" on top. Looks like spaghetti, tastes like a sundae. YUM!


There is a large area out front to eat your ice cream treats. Inside, there is a small area with a few tables in an air-conditioned environment. Next door is a mini golf area.

There is a computer outside the front where you can sign up for email coupons and specials.

I visited Uncle Ray's Dairyland on National Ice Cream Day in July 2013. I shall return soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the area...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Their ice cream is the best. You can get hard packed, soft serve, specialty items... The quality is always top notch. Service is friendly and quick. When they make spumoni, buy yourself a quart, even if you've never has spumoni before. Absolutely packed with cherries and nuts, oh my!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you are a local.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is your ice cream place & I guess will always be. For me ice cream is ice cream. This is a great place for all to gather & talk and just relax.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best ice cream in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Uncle Rays homemade ice cream is the best. They have the best strawberry sundae. Homemade whip cream--its pink. Everyone is always very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UNCLE Ray's Dairyland also viewed

 

Been to UNCLE Ray's Dairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNCLE Ray's Dairyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.