We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Farmington Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Farmington Hills to your Saves list
Hotel Farmington Hills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31525 West 12 Mile Road, Farmington Hills, MI 48334 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Farmington Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have been staying at this property for last 4 years - and always found their staff to be extremely accomodative of our needs. Special thanks to Restaurant staff for their personalised care and Chief Engineer Mr Scott for quick turnaround for resolving any problem. Will continue to choose this hotel whenever I visit Farmington again.

Room Tip: Rooms near exit doors for easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    16
    17
    12
See reviews for
37
11
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is NOT like a typical marriott experience! I'm a marriott rewards points holder and have stayed at several locations. The rooms were up-to-date at first glance, but were not very clean. Mildew ceiling tiles and moldy bathrooms. Even worse, our air conditioning went out and the room was nearly 90 degrees! Hot, hot hot!!! ....and non-working ice machines! They gave us a room to switch into at 2am, but the lights and the phones were all unplugged, so we had to go back to our previous room to confirm the switch. The managment was nice and apologetic, however this hotel needs some improvements! We will not stay there again. Sorry. I'm so very sorry.

Room Tip: Lower floor = not as hot...air conditioning may go out. Ask for newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here the weekend of June 2nd. The front desk staff (Josh) was very attentive and friendly. I had called weeks earlier and requested a fridge which was already in my room when I arrived. The rooms looked great. Great bathrooms. Big shower and a huge counter. In the room there was an additional sink and mirror which was great if you want to get ready while someone's in the bathroom. There's a little store in the lobby which has snacks and other items you might want while at a hotel which was very nice. The only downside is there is no continential breakfast. You have to pay $9.00 eat there in the morning. $9.00 is not a bad price but most hotels of this caliber offer free breakfast in the morning so that was a bit of a let down. Other than that, it was a great stay and hats off to the hotel staff for doing a great job.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The majority of the recent reviews have it right. The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast is far better than most hotels, the room was clean but the place is rundown. I've never seen dirtier carpets in a hotel and the bed seemed to have a mattress made of plywood. I stayed here because they gave our group a terrific rate even though I'd read the reviews ahead of time. I'll just confirm that those reviews are spot on in their accuracy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at this property one night on a business trip. Courtyards used to always be a safe bet, but I'm begining to rethink that after the last few experiences I've had with them.

First the good - the staff. I interacted with some kind of manager upon checking in and he was fantastic, the young lady at the desk the next morning was also awesome. They were super friendly and helpful. There is also a nice (and free!) business center in the lobby where I was able to print off some documents for a meeting without having to pay. They also have free wifi.

Ok, the bad. Wow is this property in need of a face lift! It's outdated, but worse than that it feels shabby. The carpet in the halls are all rolled up and bumpy, the room itself had stained ceiling tiles (drop looking ceiling) that I feared would fall in on me, and overall it just feels like you stepped back in time.

When I'm in this area again I will fine somewhere else to stay. It wasn't terrible for a business trip one night, but again, there has to be a similar level hotel that's cleaner and more up to date in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel staff was very nice. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. However, the hotel is older and the doors to rooms are like heck to close. The computer in the business center was slower than a snail. Overall the hotel was OK for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Do not rely on your Marriott Member Profile. Indicate where you would not like to stay. I received e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

then you will love this hotel!

Overall nice and clean but i wouldnt recommend this hotel and should have read the reviews of the frequent traveler first.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farmington Hills

Address: 31525 West 12 Mile Road, Farmington Hills, MI 48334 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Farmington Hills)
Location: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Farmington Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Farmington Hills Hotel Farmington Hills
Courtyard Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Courtyard
Farmington Hills Marriott
Courtyard Detroit Farmington Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Farmington Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.