We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nasty, smelly n dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Farmington Hills

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Farmington Hills to your Saves list
Knights Inn Farmington Hills
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Farmington Hills
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   37527 Grand River Avenue, I-275 to M102 to 10 mile Grand River Exit, Farmington Hills, MI 48335   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Farmington Hills
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nasty, smelly n dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

That motel was very nasty dirty and it smells like smoke n old. I tried to get my money back they would give me a refund cause they said I got a Internet special. I was there from out of town n I had to take a shower at family house cause that tub was nasty n it had a hole in it n I couldn't even get a iron. I ended up leaving n went to the extended stay 500% better. I'm also reporting them to the BBB! O n I also smelled weed

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Needed a room for a couple of weeks for my twins and myself. Stopped by this hotel to get some room rate information, opened the front door to the office and it smelled of weed some! Really???? the front desk clerk was lying on the couch watching t.v. when i came in he jumped up off the couch grabbed the glade and began to spray. I could not believe my eyes or nose. I grabbed my babies and headed back out the door. The Bates Motel had nothing on this place! creepy,

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

After a five & a half hours drive we pulled into this knights inn and it didn't look the best, we thought it was cheap so we gave it a go. The staff at the counter seemed nice enough apart from not really knowing what they were doing for check in.
We got to our room and it seemed clean enough but there was no microwave or refrigerator (as advertised) & the WiFi didn't work. We repacked the car and were moved to another room, checked the WiFi first thing before unpacking the car and it didn't work there either. So we were moved to yet another room, I was walked down to the room so I could check the WiFi and it worked.
Upon unpacking the car we noticed the smell of stale smoke and wet dog and other weird oders, we packed the car back up, asked for our money back and travelled a fair while and found another motel.

Room Tip: Do not stop here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was the cheapest hotel I could find. It cost me $36 a night for five nights ($197 total). All I can really say is that you get what you pay for. I had a mini refrigerator and microwave (they didn't charge me extra) and it wasn't really clean, but it wasn't shockingly horrible. It's run by men, and the room screams bachelor-ran. There was dirt here and there, but the sheets and towel were relatively clean. The door was a little fussy, but overall it is decent for what you pay. My husband and I were under 21, they made special arrangements so that way we could have a room; provided a special set of rules (no parties nor loud noise, which was fine, as we were only there for five nights for my husband's schooling) Also, they had flat pillows and only two for the one bed (which in itself was very uncomfortable {If you need a bit more cushioning, my husband and I took the couch cushions off the couch and put the pillows on top for more comfort-I advise doing this for comfort or you may hurt your neck/back/head!})The man at the counter was friendly. I'm still staying here now, and have yet to check out the free breakfast, but by what I perceive from the rest of this hotel, I'm betting it isn't anything good, just cheap and filling. It would be good for a man or two, but if you're a typical woman with higher cleaning standards, I don't recommend it, unless you bring your own cleaning supplies. Once again, it was the cheapest around and so I didn't expect much, as nobody should, especially near big, crime-ridden cities like Detroit.

Room Tip: You will hear bathroom noises very well... just a warning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I decided to spend the weekend at this hotel because I did not have much cash on me. However I greatly regret having made that decision. First off, in the room the drawers from all the dressers were gone. That was not really a problem for I didn't have anything to store. The problem was the morning after having slept there and having 12 red bumps all over my neck, arms, hands, and feet. I knew I had been bit by something and sure enough I found a tiny bug crawling under in my bed. I then took the bug to the office and told the woman manager to please clean my room. She refused and said that the bug was not from her room! I even asked her if she would give me some sheets and she again refused. Obviously they do not know how to run a hospitality business. I would not suggest staying here unless you don't mind bedbugs and rude people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

Clean and spacious for a budget hotel. I booked it for $37 as a single traveler and my room and a double bed, couch, coffee table, small fridge, a microwave, a hair dryer (very important for a girl!), and a coffee maker. Good sized bathroom and a big mirror. It also had HBO. Bed was comfortable enough, although I am not picky about beds. Room was cleaned and towels were changed daily.

The only weird thing about this place is that they don't provide you with any shampoo. I checked into my room at 11 pm, ready to go to sleep, when I noticed that there was no shampoo. I called the font desk asking for one, and their reply was "No shampoo!". O-kay then... I just washed my hair with soap the following morning. Other than "no shampoo", I have no complains about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Farmington Hills

Address: 37527 Grand River Avenue, I-275 to M102 to 10 mile Grand River Exit, Farmington Hills, MI 48335
Location: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Farmington Hills 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Knights Inn Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Farmington Hills Hotel Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Farmington Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.