We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not let looks fool! Come hungry and leave diet at the door!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bone Yard Barbecue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bone Yard Barbecue
31006 Orchard Lake Rd, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-1339
248-851-7000
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
ypsilanti michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not let looks fool! Come hungry and leave diet at the door!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The first time I came here, I tohugh oh no a greasy dive! Okay it is a greasy food place but what, awesome grease it , is.

The place is very poor on atompshere But awesome of Food and prices!

The best food ever if you love ribs and chicken with, huge huge portions and very good and good service this is the place ot eat :) I would not , eat here every day you would be , a thousand pounds! gosh it is good!

A huge slab of ribs and fixings will cost only around 16 dollars :) Awesome huh :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainwell, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dont order too much, 1/2 rack lasted me two days.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

They have homemade potato chips, thought it strange to have them with ribs, but they went perfectly. Had one meal there, other one next day to go. Both were great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love the Boneyard Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I love the Boneyard Special for a dinner takeout. Comes with potatoes, 5 or 6 ribs, cole slaw and a giant piece of Garlic Bread. All served in a cardboard box. Delicious!!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stopped in for the Ribs and Chicken combo. The ribs were not hot, not cold, like they'd been sitting in a warmer. The sauce is still excellent. Chicken was good. The potatoes served were dinner were room temperature. This place used to be packed when I lived in the area ('80's and '90's), now was nearly empty when I dined here. The Livonia location seems to have more business and may be a better experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Mediocre and dishonest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My husband and I drove about 15 miles for a Saturday night dinner here, presenting a Groupon certificate to the server when we were seated. She informed us that Groupon had cancelled this offering and they were unable to accept it--we could contact them directly for a refund. When I told her we'd never had that experience before, she agreed and said several customers have been upset. WELL. . . when I reported this to Groupon, they immediately replied with an apology and a prompt refund (as a Groupon credit), reporting that Boneyard had cancelled the offer.

We stayed for dinner anyway. THe burger and pulled pork sandwiches we ordered were "just OK"; the side of coleslaw was fresh, crisp and delicious. We saw a nearby table of three walk out before their food arrived after waiting forever.

The parking lot was littered and restrooms filthy. I'd say skip it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bone Yard Barbecue also viewed

Farmington Hills, MI
 

Been to Bone Yard Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bone Yard Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.