We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morels - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Morels
32729 Northwestern Highway, Farmington Hills, MI
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Northwestern Highway & 14 Mile Rd
Description: this is a Matt Prentice restaurant
Dearborn, MI
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

How beautiful the white lights surrounding the entrance were! I was impressed from first sight of the place. The inside was great too. We went with another couple and we all opted for the Prix fix menue of Morel madness, a five course meal. Everything was absolutely delicious, especially the morel bisque soup. Tiny serving but so rich, it would spoil the appitite if you ate a whole bowl. I will definitely return for a cup of the soup and have a menu item less filling.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great new look, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had drinks and appetizers at the bar. Bartender was a little "offish", maybe just having a bad day? The mushroom sampler appetizer was delicious. I would HIGHLY recommend the mushroom bisque. The chip and dip app was not bad either! Wine list by the glass could be improved. Nice, new interior, nice decor. Has a semi-private room for smaller parties.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“another Detroit themed restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Its OK. It is a nice alternative to the local chain restaurants. A lot of local Detroit photo themes. The interior isn't exciting but it does have a bar area at the heart of the restaurant. The food is better than most chains and is reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As good as before!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was as good as the previous restaurant on Telegraph. The atmosphere spoke fine dining, which it is. Great food, attractive presentation, good service. What more can one want?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Morels was as good as I read about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stopped in when I was in the area because of the reviews about their mushroom bisque. I admit it was wonderful and I will make the trip to have just that now that I have experienced it. The service was good, we was seated right away and wait staff was prompt and professional. Only issue I had is that they serve luke warm water, but I asked for ice and I was brought a glass promptly.

Had the Lobster Mac and Cheese as a starter and it was fabulous. Huge chunks of lobster and plenty cheesey. Had the Chicken and dumplings and it was tasty and satisfying. I was hoping to save room for dessert but the bread basket prevented that. Looking forward to going back and sampling several more items.

Parking is a little weird because they share a lot with Detroit Prime and even though the restaurant was not packed on a Thursday night the parking was sparse. People for Detroit Prime were parked in several of the spots.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morels also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.