We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, very good service, poor wine selections” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morels - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Morels
32729 Northwestern Highway, Farmington Hills, MI
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Northwestern Highway & 14 Mile Rd
Description: this is a Matt Prentice restaurant
detroit, mich
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, very good service, poor wine selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My mother, sister, brother in law and I went here on a friday night to try out the relocated restaurant. It went on a several year hiatus, and I am glad it is back. The decadent wild mushroom bisque is back (albeit not quite as rich as before- but thats a good thing). The selection of appetizers and menu is good but interesting. I had a special wood smoked strip steak that was excellent. Everybody enjoyed the food overall. The waiter was excellent, tended to our needs. The busboys need a little work.

This restaurant is owned by Matt Prentiss who has broken off from the Epicurean Group- formerly the Matt Prentiss Group- they parted ways so the restarant IS NOT in the same group as the Coach Insignia etc. as one reviewer has stated

Now the disappointment- the wine selections. First they had very limited by the glass selections. Their house wines are by Cartlidge and Browne- and are frankly junk- a restaurant of this caliber should not these on the list. Second their mid level cabernet sauvignon by the glass was not in stock. So the only DECENT cabernet was $ 25 a glass!!!!!
I discussed this with the sommelier who was quite snippy and said the waiter should have steered me to the Merlot. Well, I didn't want a merlot...

Come on Matt- get a new sommelier and a better wine list, this place deserves it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had dinner with my sister there for her birthday. I had the Coriander & Fennel Braised Lamb Shank and she had the Halibut. My lamb was greasy and should have been trimmed before cooking, the potatoes that came with it were a little watery. So I rated it ok. My sister enjoyed her Halibut, so this was good, because it was her day. Would I go back for the cost of the meal and the quality, no

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not impressive at all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I were not impressed with this restaurant. We dined here based on our past experiences at Coach Insignia, which is part of the same restaurant group. While we enjoyed the bread basket and the mushroom appetizer, the wine list was not as expansive as advertized, only featuring American wines. We ate around 7:30 PM on a Friday evening, and they were already out of the fish special, so I had to order the whitefish off of the regular menu which was bland. My husband also said that his steak was not up to par and was very fatty. Lastly, the cheesecake was not even very flavorful. Pretty disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was recently (10-9-12) the keynote speaker for a meeting held at Morels. It wasn't clear to me that the engagement included dinner, so I had arranged to meet a friend for dinner at another restaurant afterwards. When I arrived at Morels, I learned that the engagement included dinner. Knowing I had plans for later, I had a few bites of salad (delicious!) and half of a roll (heavenly). I took a salmon dish and a piece of cheesecake with me. Later that night I crawled into bed with the cheesecake. It was hands down the best cheesecake I've ever had. It had some sort of nut (love the texture the nuts gave the dessert) in it and a great crust. I put half of the cheesecake in the fridge for another day. The next day I had the salmon. It was outstanding! There was some sort of fluffy sauce on top. I've had salmon in many restaurants. Never had it this good. It had a nice crust on it and was served over some sort of potato dish that was also delicious. Next I went to the fridge to retrieve my cheesecake. My overly efficient housekeeper had thrown it out! I kind of didn't want to speak to her for like a week! Just kidding, but not really. Kudos to the hostess who made me feel very welcome. I will be returning to this restaurant often.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I ate at Morels on a Monday night. We were both pleased at the really interesting choices on the menu. The drink menu offers a nice selection of Michigan craft beers, along with other alcoholic beverages. The server indicated that they had just started on their fall dinner menu. The bread basket was outstanding, with four kinds of homemade breads and scones with honey butter. For my main course, I had the griddled duck confit and it was really delicious. The meat was meltingly tender and was served over red cabbage, apples and raisins, and sweet potato spaetzle. The only thing I would change is to have the spaetzle served on the side because it was browned but no longer crisp. My husband had the whitefish and he had the same comment: the potato cakes that were under the fish were tasty but no longer crispy. For dessert, we shared the chocolate pot de creme, which was a rich and delectable ganache-like pudding, beautifully and deliciously garnished. We thought the prices were very reasonable, and the service and ambiance were pleasant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morels also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.