We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise for a last minute change!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2635 Ludington Street, Escanaba, MI 49829-1332   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice surprise for a last minute change!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We booked this hotel the morning before we arrived as it was raining in Mackinac and we decided to start our trip home early. We booked this hotel because it was the only non-smoking room available in Escanaba for the evening. It was a king room w/ a sofa bed, microwave, and fridge. Very large and very nice room! The hotel gave us two free drink coupons for the hotel bar and breakfast was free as well. The breakfast was a hot buffet with pancakes, eggs, sausages, potatoes, biscuits/gravy, etc. Check-in was quick and easy and the staff was very nice. We had requested a crib and it was not in the room but the staff brought us a crib within a few minutes once we called them. Nothing about this hotel that I can complain about!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
40
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk, va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We were planning on staying at the Best Western in Escanaba, MI for eight days for the Christmas holiday. We were expecting a room with two queen beds, a full pull out couch, microwave and fridge. When we got there we were told the heater in our room was out and that we would be put into adjoining rooms for the night. that was fine! I understand that heaters go out in the winter! We got into our rooms (by the way, we have two adults and three children) the heater in one room didn't work, in the same room I found moldy, yes moldy, coffee in the coffee pot and when i tried to pour it out the sink was clogged. I called the front desk explaining the problem and was rudely told that they would look into it and to just sleep in the other room. (have you ever tried squeezing five people into two queen beds?). the next day we were told our orginial room was ready and to just wait half an hour for the heater to warm up the room. Great! 45 mins later we were informed that our room was no longer available and the would "be willing to allow" us to stay in our current room and they would "try" to get the heater and sink fixed. WHAT!!!!!
Needless to say we left. Oh but wait, they did do us the favor of only charging us the one night we were there even though we left after check-out time. (oh, and did i mention that when i asked when the pool would be open the receptionist rolled his eyes and said "I guess i could have someone open for you if you really need to swim."!!!!!
I was expecting better treament that this seeing as how my husband just got back from his thrid tour in Iraq and wanted to spend the holdidays with his family! And even if we weren't military I would expect better service than that!
We ended up staying at the Travel Lodge down the street. A step or two down yes, but we got a huge room with three beds, fridge, microwave and treated with more respect than most 5 star resorts.
I will NEVER stay at this Best Western again and neither will any of my or my husbands families. We were all apalled at the treatment we revieved.

  • Liked — modern look to rooms
  • Disliked — please read my review, there isn't enough room here!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

It's hard to describe this hotel. We paid $120 for one night and the room was relatively clean but overall it has a nursing home feel to it. Everything was so bland, the people who worked there had a flat affect including the front desk personnel and the break fast serving lady. It was almost like zombies were running the place.

For $120 we expected to have a free continental breakfast however we had to pay for breakfast where they rationed out everything. For example the breakfast lady served us juice in a tiny glass and it was awkward to keep asking for more juice, coffee etc. The eggs were runny, the sausages were soggy.

My wife and I go on a lot of road trips and if had the choice again we would not pay more than $59.00 a night for staying here and skip the breakfast.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The zombie like affect of the people who work there. p.s. Management: teach your employees to smile.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

At check in we were offered (for $15) an upgrade to a Queen suite and were very happy that we did. The room was very large and had additional sleeping space on the pull-up sofa. (we had 2 adults and 3 kids stay in the room comfortably). The refigerator in the room was large (compared to most hotels) and held everything from our large cooler.

We stayed 3 nights, and spent all our days on the beach just outside of Escanaba (between Ford River and Escanba). As a result, our bathroom would become a little sandy. The cleaning crew here were amazing. The room was spotless each time they were done.

The breakfast (very reduced at $3.95/person) was not the greatest but okay.

Beds were comfortable. There was a large closet in the room, which was nice for storage.

The hotel has a "newer" section, and the Queen suite was in this newer section. The carpeting and everything appeared very new. I highly recommend the Queen suite -- I am quite particular about hotels and cleanliness, and I felft very comfortable here.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — A little pricier than other options nearby -- but probably worth it.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed for two nights in June 2007. The hotel is basically just OK...nothing great or horrible.

This hotel used to be the Ramada. It has been upgraded and partially remodeled.

The rooms are nice and beds firm. Our air conditioner made a little noise which was slightly bothering.

The pool was nice (8ft deep) .

Its still an old hotel. There are better values in Escanaba as the king bed here is approximately $90/night.

We had the breakfast buffet the first morning at their restaurant. It makes the Big Boy buffet look like a meal for a king.. Obviously I don;t recommend the breakfast buffet even for $3.95.

Their restaurant had some good reviews but we decided to go to the Stonehouse in Escanaba and were not disappointed.

Its a basic hotel.. That's it.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2005

I was really worried about this hotel because in the Best Western book it didn't have any stars and thier were no pictures of the room. I am very picky about the rooms and I thought they were big and roomy. Everything worked good and the pool was nice. The kids had a good time and my husband went gambling. They have a shuttle to the casino and thier is a pizza place in the hotel--pizza's okay, but nothing special and then thier is a fancy restarant which we had the breakfast buffet the next morning for $5 a person which was pretty good. The dinner menu had alot of fancy stuff that I have never eatten and then steaks which I usually don't order and it was expensive $13 and up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2004

Excellent hotel in the center of town with friendly staff, clean rooms and nice restaurant. We never received actual verification that the chef is one of the top 3 in Michigan as the front desk boasted. However, it could be true. The meal was exceptionally good and the service, excellent. The pork dish is their specialty and the home made desserts were delicious. If you are travelling through this area and need a place to stay, this is it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites

Address: 2635 Ludington Street, Escanaba, MI 49829-1332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Pioneer Inn & Suites!Looking for a quiet getaway? The Best Western Pioneer Inn & Suites provides a great night's sleep and much more! Grab a bite to eat and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere at Pacino's, our hotel restaurant. Our property is conveniently located on the west end of Escanaba. We provide the perfect answer for the business traveler, tourist, sportsman, and senior citizen. Located just minutes from the mall, Family Fun Park, cinema, and downtown. Also located only two miles from Ludington Park on Little Bay de Noc, the beach and the greatest walleye fishing in the U.P. Nature is all around us! Our hotel is minutes from the water and hiking/ORV trails. Enjoy a round of golf at one of our five area courses, all located within ten miles of our property. Our friendly staff is here to ensure that you have a wonderful vacation. SORRY, WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escanaba
Escanaba Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.