We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the very low rate but not for everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 North Lincoln Road, Escanaba, MI 49829   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
St. Paul MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value for the very low rate but not for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

This motel delivers a lot of value for a very low rate and I would stay there again for that reason but it is not for everyone. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and passed my bed bug check, and the room was spacious and mostly clean. The free breakfast included boiled eggs, fruit and muffins. On the minus side, the motel is run down and needs updating. The top sheets on the beds were so worn you could see through them and there was some mold on the shower curtain. We rejected the first room offered to us because the fastener on the window (1st floor) was broken and the window could easily be opened from the outside. A desk clerk told us the owner was aware of the problem but if so why did they try to rent it to us? I am suspicious of the reviews of this motel which are highly favorable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
12
14
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

In December of 2008 my family stayed at this hotel on Christmas Eve. We had booked our room online prior to our arrival. When we got there, they told us that they needed a credit card for "incidental expenses." When the credit card bill arrived we were billed twice for the same nights stay. I called and spoke with the hotel's owner. He personally told me he would take care of everything. The next month, the same thing happened. The third month, I called again except this time the owner refused to return my calls. At this point the credit card company would not help since it had been too long and I could not obtain a proof of credit from the establishment. I have called over a dozen times. Written mutliple letters only to never get a penny back for them charging us 2 times for the same nights stay. This is a dirty hotel owned by people who will rip you off even on Christmas!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6deers
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010 via mobile

great stay. Clean, quiet, good breakast of waffles, eggs, muffins

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This place is not a good place to stay. Here are the items I found deficient in merely the time it took to unload my luggage and deliver it to the room:

* The hallways smelled very bad
* The rear entrance/exit door's security lock is inoperative.
* The room smelled worse than the hallways
* The carpet in the room was stained badly
* The air conditioner in the room pumped what smelled like moldy air in
* The sink was chipped
* The concrete sidewalks are chipped and in bad repair
* The furniture in the room is old and dated

The nice young man at the front desk offered to show me another room, but the hallways smelled so bad and the place is in such disrepair, I couldn't bear to stay. He tried to remove the charges from my credit card, but I'd made my reservations through AAA and now must try to get reimbursed through Travelocity.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I'm always hesitant to stay at a hotel I've not been to before, however, I must say I was very impressed with Americas Best Value Inn in Escanaba. Beginning with the friendly staff, to the clean room and the variety of the continental breakfast, I couldn't ask for a better place to stay for the price. It truly was a home away from home. I would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends; and stay there again given the opportunity to pass through the U.P. again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The rooms were extremely clean and just the right size for my family. I was able to sleep peacefully without any disturbances. It is located in the heart of Escanaba, so everything is within a few miles away. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

I recently visited the Upper Peninsula and stayed at America's Best Value Inn in Escanaba. It was friendly and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2301 North Lincoln Road, Escanaba, MI 49829
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Americas Best Value Inn, our 24-hour staff is here to make our pet friendly hotel your home away from home. Guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, cable TV with HBO, coffeemakers, and hairdryers. Start your day off right with our deluxe continental breakfast served from 6am-10am with available items including hot/cold cereal, waffles, bread, muffins, bagels, fruit, hard boiled eggs, orange/apple juice, milk, tea, and coffee. Take advantage of our business center and meeting space which can accommodate up to 75 people. The meeting space is equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, white board, linens, flip chart, and audio visual equipment. Catering service is available. Call ahead to reserve our space for your next meeting or event. At Americas Best Value Inn Escanaba, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.