We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place to eat in Escanaba!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stonehouse & Carport Lounge

The Stonehouse & Carport Lounge
2223 Ludington Street, Escanaba, MI 49829-2322
906-786-5003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The BEST place to eat in Escanaba!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food is amazing, you will never be disappointed! Fine dining in a casual setting :-) :-) We travel 2 hours to have dinner there. Yes, it's that good, and yes, I am a foodie snob!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    40
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at the Stonehouse. The service was friendly and prompt. The goat cheese appetizer was delicious. The entrees were prepared well, however portion size was a little small. Value was adequate. We didn't see any options in Escanaba we liked better. Glad we went here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I traveled to Escanaba for work in June. We ate at the stonehouse and it was my best meal all week. I ordered the 12oz prime rib and I will tell you it was the best I have ever had. The portion was huge (more than I could eat) and the flavor was mouth watering. Even the salad was delicious. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Steak was excellent. Made a reservation and we were seated on time. Very crowded restaurant. Hard to have conversation as tables are close together and the restaurant was packed. The food however was worth the noise level.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in an interesting town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just ate here on the recommendation of our hotel. It was very good and a pleasant change to find a restaurant which is not part of a chain but still reasonably priced. The service was excellent and the atmosphere pleasant. The 2 of us could have a private conversation while a larger group was close by. The menu was extensive and included a range of lighter meals as well as combinations of meat and sea food. We both had a combo main course (entrée for Americans but main course for the rest of the world!). The steaks were done perfectly and very tender. The ribs were as good as I have had and the shrimps were very good. We both had soup as part of the meal. The wine list is quite large and reasonably priced. There are several by the glass. The total cost including tip was $82 and we felt full enough without being bloated and thought it was good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonehouse & Carport Lounge also viewed

 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Stonehouse & Carport Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stonehouse & Carport Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.