We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please fix the wireless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2603 N. Lincoln Street, Escanaba, MI 49829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Escanaba
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Please fix the wireless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The people and upgrades are nice. Breakfast is nicer than most "Choice" hotels. Be sure to ask for the upgraded rooms. Nice. However, please fix the wireless you are losing customers. I was not the only customer who was frustrated by the wireless service as I heard another guest at breakfast complaining about the same thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookston, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wish we could keep this place secret. Once the word gets out it will be very crowded. As you can see from previous negative reviews this place needed an upgrade. And it has received it. Major renovations have been completed to most of the rooms and lobby area. Very well done. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Go out of the way to be helpful. One of few motels I have found in US where there is a real person in the breakfast area willing to help and meet special requests. Pool area kept very clean and warm and plenty of towels. We will certainly return here. Travel frequently to UP to visit family. This motel provided us with our best experience in a long time. Pet friendly and lots of room outback to exercise dogs.

Room Tip: If you have large dogs, as we do, stay toward rear of motel. Direct and easy access to large area f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I believe this hotel was previously called the Peninsula Bay Inn. We were returning from a trip around Lake Michigan. Service was average, room was average, and the breakfast was subpar. Price of room for a Sunday evening seemed high as well. Had reasonable expectations, but unfortunately there was nothing spectacular about the hotel. Really no wow factor for any of the amenities. There were no major complaints, but again there was nothing I could rave about either. Room seemed outdated. Bed was ok though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your honest and forthright review. We take guest feedback very seriously and always work to improve our facility to better serve our guests. We have recently switched over to a Quality Inn & Suites, and are in the process of updating all our room furniture and decore, as well as rolling out many small improvements to our facility over the coming months. I'm glad you enjoyed the beds, we've recently updated our rooms to all new pillow-top mattress with three sheeted bedding and the response has been very positive.

If you have any suggestions for how we can improve, please don't hesitate to email us at contact@qualityinnescanaba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

we stayed one night on our way to the UP. Rooms were clean and breakfast was nice with lots of room for seating as opposed to alot of chains that have 4 tables for 400 people. The service was really great, though. We happened to be there the night of the Perseids meteor shower and Daniel at the front desk gave us directions to an awesome spot to watch the show. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I check in to my room. Go upstairs and it is dirty with towels all over and has obviously not been cleaned. I wait 45 min for them to clean my room when it is obvious there are others available. I get to my room to find it smelling of must and I would not have thought it was occupied for the last month if I hadnt just gone up and found it dirty. The coffee maker had mold in it. I talked with some other guests who had found that their sheets had not been changed (apparently a regular occurrence here since it happened to two separate guests). Only response from the general manager is "Ill talk to my staff about it." with no attempt to solve the problems. I ended up with a voucher for a free night stay but will definitely not be using it. Couldn't pay me to stay here again. Prices of an expensive hotel, service of a poor one. Only positive is that breakfast is very good and rotates daily.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service failures you encountered during your recent stay with us.

We do our best to provide our guests a high quality experience, and I'm disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations.

Thank you for your comments. We welcome honest guest feedback as it shows us what we need do to improve our service and make our facility more enjoyable for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumomof3
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The front lobby and pool area are the nicest things about the hotel. The lobby, even though dated decor, still looks nice. The hallways, room doors, and rooms themselves are very dated. However, I think the rooms are priced right given these conditions. The lower price allowed us to get adjoining rooms which helped our family of 5 spread out a little.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Peninsula Bay Inn over the 4th of July holiday to celebrate my grandparent's 50th wedding anniversary. The staff was great and so helpful through the whole thing! We had the reception at the hotel and they were very attentive to us throughout the night, and the food was excellent! I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Escanaba because the service was exceptional. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks for your review and congratulations on your Grandparent's 50th! We're glad we could help make their special day a success. The next time you need a place to stay in Escanaba please consider us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba

Address: 2603 N. Lincoln Street, Escanaba, MI 49829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to enjoy a well deserved vacation with your family or to visit on business, the Quality Inn & Suites is your complete full service overnight and business meeting destination. In addition to 115 beautifully appointed rooms, we offer a variety of amenities to make your stay with us a relaxing and memorable one. Stay with us today & experience what sets us apart from the rest. We look forward to seeing you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Hotel Escanaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.