We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Lodge Escanaba to your Saves list
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Crystal Lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Freshly painted, newer non-stained or worn carpet, friendly proprietors and staff. Pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of this roadside motel. They also had large flatscreen TVs which surprised us as we wouldn't have expected that. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    100
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
91
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Met two motorcycling friends there last Monday. They were heading home from the east coast to New Mexico. I booked the room with three double beds. It was great and only $75 with tax included. Room was clean, beds comfortable, and hosts helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we usually stick to big chain hotels, but after reading the tripadvisor reviews, we gave this small motel a try. the room(#19) was clean, space efficiently set up, comfortable bed/pillows, small fridge/microwave(nice extra). yes, there was road noise being so close to hwy, but no more than a big chain or one that has kids running up & down halls & we just played some music. nice restaurant next door. good experience for a GREAT price. only thing I would add is take your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The property was older but decently maintained on the outside. We came in late at about 8:30pm on the tail-end of a holiday weekend. We were in room #1 which had a just shampooed smell about it that was simply overpowering (later I discovered that the smell was a fully opened air freshener hidden in the room). The room we had was damp and very close to the road with lots of road noise. The beds were very old with mattresses that hurt our backs. Not what we expected at all after reading the tripadvisor reviews. This is the first property that is not acceptable to us and we believe is highly over-rated on tripadvisor. We would not stay here again. There are many choices across the street that are chain operations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! We certainly appreciate your stay with us, and we hope to use your feedback to make our guests experience more enjoyable.

We regret that we were unable to speak with you about your experience while you were here. The notes that you have pointed out regarding a specific room had not previously been brought to our attention, so we thank you for doing so through this review. With continuous work underway, we are eager to make every room as comfortable and enjoyable to travelers as possible. As we are entering our second year of ownership, we hope that our return guests notice positive change, and we do welcome visitors to tour our rooms before deciding to stay with us!

While our rating on TripAdvisor is high, we do not want travelers to mistake the rating for being the nicest and newest place in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa, WI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly staff Nice room liked the fridge and microwave will come in handy when we stay for longer
visits. I liked that we were able to take our dog with us last minute trip and we were unable to put the dog in a kennel. Pet friendly rooms helped us out. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville,IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My friends and I stopped here on a motorcycle trip around lake Michigan. This little motel is ran by a very friendly couple and there little girl and is clean and charming. The rooms have good showers and flat screen TV. It was very enjoyable to visit other guess and watch the sunset from the front of our room. The restaurant next to the motel has a very good breakfast. For a couple of older bikers it was a blast from the past. Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Thank goodness for TripAdvisor or I may have missed this gem. There are so many motels along the way that it is hard to know which to choose. Upon arrival the owner met us in the office and he was so incredibly nice. The room is very clean and cute. Coffeemaker, microwave, cable, WIFI, table and chairs and fridge. They really have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. Definitely recommend this motel and would absolutely stay here on our next trip through the UP.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Lodge Escanaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.