We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
11977 Gilbert Rd., Empire, MI 49630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Empire B&B and Inns
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

There are not an abundance of places to stay near Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore but Susan and Van's B&B is very convenient and cozy if you don't happen to be going camping! When we first arrived, I wondered if we had made a misstep as the owners' collections of various things looked a bit cluttered. But the guest room was quaint, lovely, clean and comfortable (Michigan room). We really appreciated some of the extras like homemade cookies left out in the evening - yum! Breakfast was super delicious!! Susan is a great cook!

Some of the rooms have shared baths. Ours did, in fact, but because it was prior to the busy season, the other rooms were not occupied and so we had the bath to ourselves. I thought that the price was a bit high for a shared bath scenario, but as I mentioned, there is not much in the area so I think it is a simple case of supply and demand. And they have a rather short season as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful and gracious hosts, Van and Susan made us feel completely at home. We loved the appointments and decorating in our room (Leelenau Room). The bath had a tub and a handheld shower. Susan's breakfasts were to die for! As we enjoyed breakfast we were entertained by the many birds at feeders just outside. We will absolutely return to this B&B when we visit the Dunes area again.

Room Tip: There are five rooms. Two of them share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The first time my husband and I stayed here we only stayed one night. We knew we would be back for a longer stay someday. This time (five years later) we stayed for a week! The gardens, wood carvings (by Van), quaint outdoor seating all around the spacious yard are a relaxing retreat after a long day of kayaking. We had a butterfly bush right outside our bedroom window (Sleeping Bear Room) and enjoyed watching many butterflys and humming birds as well as other birds around the property. But my friends I am saving the best for last! Susan's breakfasts are out of this world! She should be called chef not inn keeper! Lemon pancakes that melt in your mouth and an egg dish that she laddeled yummy cheese into...need I say more? We will be back and we highly recomend this Bed and Breakfast!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I felt like I was at my grandparents or other relatives. It was quaint, comfortable. Dark and quiet at night. DVD players in rooms with large selection of videos. I enjoyed it very much. Some rooms with showers, others with tub/hand-held shower...keep in mind if you really feel you have to be standing up to get clean!

Room Tip: Sleeping bear room is right off parlor and kitchen. I thought it might be loud but it wasn't. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this B & B for two nights while visiting the area. It was our first experience at a B & B and we really enjoyed it. The owners Susan and Van are very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Leelenau Room which had a tub and handheld shower. It was a very cozy and comfortable room and it easily could accomodate 3-4 people, although moving around with that many in the room could be challenging.
The breakfast served was wonderful and since there are no restaurants located right in the area, it was a nice thing to have. Coffee is available earlier than breakfast is served which was nice for early risers.
The Sleeping Bear Lakeshore is beautiful. We spent 2 days touring the area, visited most of the towns, did the Pierce Stocking Drive, and took in all the breathtaking views. I am so glad we had the chance to see this.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and had an air conditioner which we did not need to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were 4 adults with two rooms at Sleeping Bear B&B. The rooms were spacious and friendly. The B&B is close to the dunes and Glen Arbor, which was important for our choice.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone spending time in the Leelenau area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here while up north to attend a wedding. While we did not spend much time at the B&B, our stay was truly delightful and relaxing. When we arrived, Susan and Van cheerfully welcomed us and showed us around. Featuring local ingredients, the breakfasts were delicious. Each morning we were treated to a view that included hummingbirds and numerous other birds. We would stay here again and would recommend it for others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11977 Gilbert Rd., Empire, MI 49630
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Empire
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sleeping Bear Hotel Empire
Sleeping Bear b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.