We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy chocolate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grocer's Daughter Chocolate

Grocer's Daughter Chocolate
12020 South Leelanau Highway, Empire, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Empire
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Friendly service and delicious chocolate samples; there is a lot to choose from. The spicy dark chocolate and the honey truffles are both wonderful. The prices are on the higher end, but for great chocolate I couldn't complain.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OMG Hot Chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

All of Grocer's Daughter's chocolates are amazing, but the Hot Cocoa is really what won me over. It is quite dark, as opposed to sweet milk chocolate. So. Good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stopped here after hiking the Sleeping Bear Dunes. The hot chocolate was some of the best we've ever had. There were generous samples of many different types of chocolate treats placed around the tiny shop. They were all delicious. It's worth a drive, and definitely worth a stop if you're spending the day at the Dunes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Directions-challenged me had to make several passes before I located the cheery green building, but it was worth the driving. The hardest part was choosing what to buy. I bought a fruit studded chocolate bar to take home to savor a few squares at a time. If you like pretty displays of chocolate, you will like this place! I would like to return to sample other chocolates. The truffles looked terrific.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Oooh, gourmet chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Yeah true gourmet chocolate. If you want great chocolate go here. Outstanding selections and great care put into each piece. We spent about $40 bucks in here on chocolate, but I don't regret it. Staff is very friendly and not pretentious, extremely nice and helpful. A normal stop. If you do not want to pay for the quality and true gourmet products, drop by the gas station and grab a hershey bar for a buck. But if you want true handcrafted awesomeness, GO HERE!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grocer's Daughter Chocolate also viewed

Empire, Leelanau County
Empire, Leelanau County
 
Empire, Leelanau County
Empire, Leelanau County
 

Been to Grocer's Daughter Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grocer's Daughter Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.