We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pizza king” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Charles'

Chef Charles'
147 River St, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9614
231-264-8901
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Elk Rapids
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Elk Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“pizza king”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Chef Charles makes the best pizza in the USA. All our out of town visitors are treated to an evening of Chef Charles Pizza. His 7 cheese is great for my vegetarian daughter and family. His special pizzas that need to be ordered ahead are great for my gourmet cousin from the east. His staff is friendly and accomodating. Come to Elk Rapids and experience the best pizza made.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The best pizza anywhere, hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Chef Charles' may appear to be just a neighborhood pizza joint, but that is where any commonalities end and the deliciousness begins. The pizza, in a word, is perfect. Not good, not great but perfect. Everything is made from scratch, from fresh ingredients and from Charles' time-tested recipe's. Everyone has their own favorite but if this is your first visit, there is nothing that compares to the the namesake pizza itself, The Chef Charles. A heavenly sesame crust topped with pesto sauce, feta cheese, artichoke hearts, greek olives and pine nuts...this is what pizza dreams are made of. I have never found anything like it anywhere else and will drive miles to get my fix. It really is that good, I promise!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Good pizza with a twist. Some unusual, but good variations

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Great pizza by the slice. Awesome sandwiches, salads, and pasta dishes. Wheat crust for the pizza, really good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“LOVE this pizza - for carry out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We frequently order pizza here to take home - get it par-baked and finish it in the oven for about 8-10 minutes. Charles's specialty pizzas are divine - in my opinion, the "regular" pizzas are just OK. Go for the Bayou Baby (spicy!), the Primo, or the Santa Fe. Seasonally the Reuben pizza is very interesting.

Pizza by the slice is very reasonable and includes a drink. The dining room is small and not really ambient. So take it home, or to the beach!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Charles' also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 

Been to Chef Charles'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Charles', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.