We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Cafe'

Harbor Cafe'
129 River St, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9614
231-264-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Elk Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stopped in for breakfast. Very small and could use a makeover that really wouldn't be costly, but
Great food and service. All four of our meals were very good and we were pleased.
We would highly recommend a breakfast there and we will go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“OK lunch, maybe better breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went ot the Harbor Cafe based on TripAdvisor reviews, and were expecting a great lunch. Oveerall, the lunch was good, but maybe our expectations were a bit high.

The Village restaraunt is small, which isn't necessarily bad in and of itself. The staff across the board was super-friendly. We arrived at about 1 p.m., with the place closing at 2 p.m. We were seated right away, and really didn't have to worry about service.

We ordered a couple of different sandwiches across the board (there is no kids menu, but the burgers are large enough to split between two). Overall, the turkey slaw ruebuen was very good, and the burgers themselves OK (the toppings great, but the meat itself unseasoned and relatively flavorless). The serving sizes were fairly large.

We all did enjoy our meals, just not the "Wow" factor we were expecting from the #2 place in Elk Rapids. After reading further reviews, I'm thinking it might be the breakfasts that drive the popularity.....

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in elk rapids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Went there 3 times over 2 week vacation. Breakfast good all 3 times. Place is small and there is usually a line to get in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible cherry French toast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We happened upon this cafe while trying to turn around to go back to a different place that we passed by going too fast...what a serendipitous find!

It's a rather small place, but the sign on the door gave us a hint that it was rather popular...saying something about "when the line forms..." Btw, any place that serves breakfast all day is my kind of place!

I went with the special, "Stuft Local Sweet Cherry French Toast" ...and yes, that's how it was spelled! It was incredible, with some kind of cream sauce and sliced cherries in the middle...oh my! And of course a side of bacon...you know, to cut the sweetness a little! All of this w/ real hash browns, a piping hot cup of joe and great service!

Couldn't have asked for a better way to start off our vacation! Thanks for a very nice welcome to northern Michigan...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Harbor Cafe' is to die for.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The food is absolutely incredible. If you want THE BEST stuffed French toast on the planet....eat here. I was beyond impressed on the presentation of all their dishes. The atmosphere is so great, you instantly feel like a "regular" and part of the Elf Rapid community. I can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Cafe' also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 

Been to Harbor Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.