We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Cafe'

Harbor Cafe'
129 River St, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9614
231-264-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Elk Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“Great breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

You cannot go wrong going to this place, great food and atmosphere. Best burger I've had in a long time. Huge breakfast, you will not go hungry here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've had the opportunity to visit this fantastic Cafe once again and this time my hubby was with me. We both enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, and the hometown feel. The food was delicious, I only wish that we had stayed longer so that we could have tried some more of the many different choices provided on their menu. I would recommend this lovely establishment to anyone who will be visiting the Elk Rapids area in the future. I know I will go back each and every time I visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I have eaten breakfast here twice in the last couple of weeks. We sit outside, drink our coffee and watch the people. And then there's the food. I tried a special, cinnamon caramel french toast and my husband had strawberry/cream french toast. Delicious!! We went back for the same, but the 2nd time was during Harbor Days and we arrived at 1:03 p.m. and they were closing at 1:00. The friendly server told us to come on in, we did, but they were out of any choices in french toast. We had the banana/nut/honey, granola pancakes and they were great. Nobody rushed us and as we were leaving, they said they had 1/2 pot of coffee so why didn't we get some to go cups? Friendly, helpful staff! Great food in a tiny tiny restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe, hard working staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We randomly chose this place to eat breakfast. It was quite full at 12:30 with people getting a late start on sunday food. A spilled drink was being cleaned up and the man cleaning was careful to get every last ice cube picked up and made sure the floor was spotless. I figured, if they care this much about the floor, they must do the same about the food. I had a Ruben omelette, my friend the pancake parafait. Both were excellent, the ruben omelette just slightly lacking in flavor. Nothing was too greasy and the pancake had wonderful fruit topping, yogurt and granola that were out of this world good. It was all so fresh it made one feel like they were eating healthy. The waitress was attentive and funny. Here's the kicker, I went to the bathroom which required one to go through the kitchen and it was spotless. Better than mine at home. Overall it was a great dining experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best breakfast, brunch or lunch in the region :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We go out of our way to stop in to this tiny hole in the wall restaurant. The owner / chef keeps things interesting with his delicious concoctions and the classic fare is better than anywhere else you will stop into. If you are a group of three or less, belly up to the bar and watch the cook(s) in action. Hope to see you there :) Don

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Cafe' also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 

Been to Harbor Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.